Rules for Tokens

  • #1
    Just a quick question, do tokens count as creatures?
    i.e, can they be exiled, enchanted, etc? Can you equip them with stuff? What happens when they get exiled, if they can? Do cards that affect all creatures affect tokens?

    Also, when a card says something about an artifact, (like 'return target artifact to hand) does this apply to artifact creatures? My main query is that of the affect of Buried Ruin
  • #2
    It depends what the Token is, but assuming it is a creature it can do all the things a creature can do, it can be equipped, enchanted etc.. The only special rules for tokens are that they stop existing the moment they leave the battlefield.

    As to your second question, yes. Artifact creatures are Artifacts, so if you are instructed to return an Artifact to your hand you can return an Artifact, or an Artifact Creature.
    Currently Playing
    Legacy
    WW Stax WW
    0-0-0
    Vintage
    GWUNoblefishUWG
    3-1-0
    On Gamble:
    10/4/2004 You might end up discarding the card you searched for.

    Level 2 DCI Judge
    Contributor to the Rules Tip Blog check us out for daily rules and tournament tips! *on hiatus, back in 6 months*
    I collect Foil Innistrad Island #254 Current Count : 152
  • #3
    Yes, they count creatures in any way.
    And yes, you can use destroy artifact cards to destroy artifact creatures etc.
    I am who I pretend to be.
  • #4
    Tokens are just like any other card with the exception of two things. Tokens characteristics are defined by what made them (for example, the text on a token is determined by the source generating it) AND tokens that leave play cease to exist after leaving play.

    They still hit the grave or go to your hand or enter the exile before ceasing to exist, but immediately after they go, they cease to exist.

    Artifacts can have multiple super types in addition to the super type "artifact". Buried Ruin can bring back an Artifact creature, an artifact land or even an artifact planeswalker (but such a planeswalker doesn't exist outside of the battlefield at this time, without the assistance of cards like Liquidmetal Coating).
    L2
    Lapsed Rules Adviser Rolleyes
  • #5
    Quote from EX33396948
    Tokens are just like any other card with the exception of two things. Tokens characteristics are defined by what made them (for example, the text on a token is determined by the source generating it) AND tokens that leave play cease to exist after leaving play.
    There are more than two exceptions. For one, tokens are not "cards". An effect that refers to "cards" can never refer to tokens. A token dying will not trigger Bloodchief Ascension for example.
    There may be more that I'm not thinking of right now.

    Artifacts can have multiple super types in addition to the super type "artifact".
    Artifact is a card type, not a super type. Super types are Legendary, Basic, World and Snow (and Ongoing).

    Buried Ruin can bring back an Artifact creature, an artifact land or even an artifact planeswalker (but such a planeswalker doesn't exist outside of the battlefield at this time, without the assistance of cards like Liquidmetal Coating).

    Liquimetal Coating can only affect permanents. Even if a permanent that's bee targeted by Liquidmetal Coating dies, it stops being an Artifact once it hits the graveyard.
    Level 1 Magic Judge
    Cards do what they say they do. No more. No less.
  • #6
    Quote from DragonFox1001
    There are more than two exceptions. For one, tokens are not "cards". An effect that refers to "cards" can never refer to tokens. A token dying will not trigger Bloodchief Ascension for example.
    There may be more that I'm not thinking of right now.

    I should have been a little more specific on the "card" part, you're right about that.

    Quote from DragonFox1001
    Artifact is a card type, not a super type. Super types are Legendary, Basic, World and Snow (and Ongoing).

    You're right too. I wasn't thinking. I meant "type"

    Quote from DragonFox1001
    Liquimetal Coating can only affect permanents. Even if a permanent that's bee targeted by Liquidmetal Coating dies, it stops being an Artifact once it hits the graveyard.

    Now this is a misunderstanding. I agree with the above but I didn't state that it would retain being an artifact after liquid metal coating was used. Rather, I was using it as an example to explain how you could have a Planeswalker Artifact, or Artifact Planeswalker in play. Should there ever be a natural Artifact Planeswalker, you could target it with Buried Ruin, which was my point.
    L2
    Lapsed Rules Adviser Rolleyes
  • #7
    Can they be sacrificed (for example Grimgrin, Corpse Borns ability?
  • #8
    Quote from GriffinRider
    Can they be sacrificed (for example Grimgrin, Corpse Borns ability?


    Tokens can be sacrificed, as long as they meet the requirements of whatever is sacrificing them (example: "sacrifice a creature" so the token has to be a creature token at the least)
    L2
    Lapsed Rules Adviser Rolleyes
  • #9
    What happens if a Token is giving Undying?

    Even if undying goes onto the stack it won't exist by that time?
    ░░░░░░░░░░░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄▄░░░░░░░░░
    ░░░░░░░░░▄▀▀▀░░░░░░░▀▄░░░░░░░
    ░░░░░░░▄▀░░░░░░░░░░░░▀▄░░░░░░
    ░░░░░░▄▀░░░░░░░░░░▄▀▀▄▀▄░░░░░
    ░░░░▄▀░░░░░░░░░░▄▀░░██▄▀▄░░░░ Dafuq I just read?
    ░░░▄▀░░▄▀▀▀▄░░░░█░░░▀▀░█▀▄░░░
    ░░░█░░█▄░░░░█░░░▀▄░░░░░▐░█░░░
    ░░▐▌░░█▀░░░▄▀░░░░░▀▄▄▄▄▀░░█░░
    ░░▐▌░░█░░░▄▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█░░
    ░░▐▌░░░▀▀▀░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐▌░
    ░░▐▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▄░░░░░░▐▌░
    ░░▐▌░░░░░░░░░▄░░░░░█░░░░░░▐▌░
    ░░░█░░░░░░░░░▀█▄░░▄█░░░░░░▐▌░
    ░░░▐▌░░░░░░░░░░▀▀▀▀░░░░░░░▐▌░
    ░░░░█░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░█░░
  • #10
    Quote from Tatsumaru369
    What happens if a Token is giving Undying?

    Even if undying goes onto the stack it won't exist by that time?


    If a token creature gains undying, then dies, it will go to the graveyard. Undying will trigger, but the token will cease to exist as a state-based action before the undying ability can go on the stack. It won't return to the battlefield.

    Even if undying did "work" for a token, it would do nothing, as a token that leaves the battlefield can't come back onto the battlefield.
    DCI Rules Advisor

    Currently playing:
    (Temporarily on hiatus from playing, but still a rules advisor.)
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes