Falkenrath Aristocrat vs Tragic Slip

  • #1
    Hey guys, just had a quick question of a scenario me and a buddy ran into. I cast Falkenrath Aristocrat and swung with her in the combat step. In response, my buddy used Tragic Slip on her to kill her. I used her effect, sacrificing a human token to give her a +1/+1 counter, so that she would survive the -1/-1, but obviously doing that caused a creature to die this turn.

    So my question is, does Tragic Slip trigger for -1/-1, or -13/-13?

    Thanks Smile
    I make art!

    Sorry for any grammar/spelling errors, I mostly post from my tablet/smartphone.

    Currently playing:
    Standard:
    GWBReanimator
    GUWMidrange
    UBRControl

    Commander:
    White Makes Right (Mikaeus, The Lunarch)
    Izzet Fun Yet? (Jhoira of the Ghitu)
    Wit's End (Jeleva, Nephalia's Scourge)
  • #2
    Tragic Slip does not have any triggered abilities, but by the time it resolves, a creature has died this turn, so it gives the targeted creature -13/-13.
  • #3
    Ah poop. Well that's good to know - thanks! Smile
    I make art!

    Sorry for any grammar/spelling errors, I mostly post from my tablet/smartphone.

    Currently playing:
    Standard:
    GWBReanimator
    GUWMidrange
    UBRControl

    Commander:
    White Makes Right (Mikaeus, The Lunarch)
    Izzet Fun Yet? (Jhoira of the Ghitu)
    Wit's End (Jeleva, Nephalia's Scourge)
  • #4
    TL;DR version - tragic slip checks for morbid at the time it resolves, not as it is cast.

    the exact order of events:

    1. Tragic Slip goes on the stack.
    2. You sacrifice a human to give +1/+1. That ability goes on the stack "on top" of Tragic Slip.
    3. The chain resolves backwards - so Falkenrath Aristocrat gets +1/+1 as that ability resolves, and then Tragic Slip resolves - and at the time of resolution, morbid is active, so Tragic Slip gives -13/-13

    "Of course you should fight fire with fire. You should fight everything with fire." - Jaya Ballard

    Standard: RDW red mana
  • #5
    So basically in this scenario, there is no way (short of using other cards/abilities) that Aristocrat would survive?
    I make art!

    Sorry for any grammar/spelling errors, I mostly post from my tablet/smartphone.

    Currently playing:
    Standard:
    GWBReanimator
    GUWMidrange
    UBRControl

    Commander:
    White Makes Right (Mikaeus, The Lunarch)
    Izzet Fun Yet? (Jhoira of the Ghitu)
    Wit's End (Jeleva, Nephalia's Scourge)
  • #6
    Not with just the cards mentioned above, no. Either the Aristocrat gets -1/-1 and dies for being a 3/0, or you sacrifice a human and the Aristocrat gets -13/-13 and dies for being a -8/-11.
    DCI Level 1 Judge
  • #7
    Gotcha, thanks for the clarifications guys!
    I make art!

    Sorry for any grammar/spelling errors, I mostly post from my tablet/smartphone.

    Currently playing:
    Standard:
    GWBReanimator
    GUWMidrange
    UBRControl

    Commander:
    White Makes Right (Mikaeus, The Lunarch)
    Izzet Fun Yet? (Jhoira of the Ghitu)
    Wit's End (Jeleva, Nephalia's Scourge)
  • #8
    The only way out of this situation is to sacrifice 13 humans to make her a 17/14 Grin
    ]
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes