Mikaeus the Unhallowed + Tokens

  • #1
    I'm not sure this has been answered but I'm in a slight hurry so I can't search.

    Suppose Mikaeus, the Unhallowed is on the field and I have, let's say, Zombie tokens.

    Would those tokens disappear if they died (the get sent to the GY after all) or does Undying activate before they hit the GY?

    Please use cardtags in the future. ~parinoid
    Last edited by aleerpsoftware: 1/30/2012 7:06:30 AM
  • #2
    Once they leave the battlefield all tokens cease to exist the next time SBA are checked.

    Whilst they will have undying and it will trigger there will not be anything to return to the battlefield when the ability resolves.


    Every normal man must be tempted, at times, to spit on his hands, hoist the black flag and start slitting throats.
    - H.L Mencken

    I Became insane with long Intervals of horrible Sanity

    All Religion, my friend is simply evolved out of fraud, fear, greed, imagination and poetry.
    - Edgar Allan Poe

    The Crafters' Rules Guru

    My helpdesk
  • #3
    Undying triggers when they enter the graveyard. However, you won't get any tokens to come back to the battlefield. Here's some relevant excerpts from the Comprehensive Rules:


    110.5f A token that‘s phased out, or that‘s in a zone other than the battlefield, ceases to exist. This is a state-based action; see rule 704. (Note that if a token changes zones, applicable triggered abilities will trigger before the token ceases to exist.)

    110.5g A token that has left the battlefield can‘t move to another zone or come back onto the battlefield. If such a token would change zones, it remains in its current zone instead. It ceases to exist the next time state-based actions are checked; see rule 704
    Alaskan Magic Player: Slinging Spells in The Last Frontier!
    Commander/EDH Decks:
    BRG The Blood of Jund - Kresh the Bloodbraided BRG
    WR The Blades of Goldnight - Gisela, Blade of Goldnight WR
  • #4
    I was always under the impression and could of sworn there was a rule stating that a token when it dies would still technically enter the graveyrard for effects that count that BUT they cease to exist afterwards.. so if this was the case wouldn't they count long enough or no?

    And if they really don't at all, hypothetically if they did, would undying still trigger for them before they ceased to exist?

    EDIT: Well read the rule from the post ^^^... Guess not for the rule I thought I'd read while back. Curious... Has that changed recently for I really remember seeing it in the official rules, least it was an old very outdated set somewhere.
  • #5
    Quote from NeroRadec707
    I was always under the impression and could of sworn there was a rule stating that a token when it dies would still technically enter the graveyrard for effects that count that BUT they cease to exist afterwards.. so if this was the case wouldn't they count long enough or no?

    This is correct the token does enter the graveyard and will trigger any relevant abilities like undying/persist


    And if they really don't at all, hypothetically if they did, would undying still trigger for them before they ceased to exist?


    The undying ability would trigger and go on the stack but this will be after the token has ceased to exist so when it eventually comes to resolve the ability will not be able to find anything to return to the battlefield.


    Every normal man must be tempted, at times, to spit on his hands, hoist the black flag and start slitting throats.
    - H.L Mencken

    I Became insane with long Intervals of horrible Sanity

    All Religion, my friend is simply evolved out of fraud, fear, greed, imagination and poetry.
    - Edgar Allan Poe

    The Crafters' Rules Guru

    My helpdesk
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes