Commander Damage

  • #1
    My opponent plays his general The Mimeoplasm and grabs a couple of dragons in my graveyard for Mimeo's abilities. My turn I play my general Karrthus, Tyrant of Jund and gain control of my opponents general and swing... The damage dealt from Karrthus is General Damage but is Mimeo General Damage too?

    Commander
    G Ezuri, Renegade Leader G
    GW Sigarda, Host of Herons WG

    Legacy
    GU 12 Post UG

    Trade Thread: Click Here
    Image Disclaimer: Please review User Notes before clicking infraction.
  • #2
    903.14a A player that's been dealt 21 or more combat damage by the same commander over the course of the game loses the game. (This is a state-based action. See rule 704.)


    So yes it's general damage, but it's a different general.
    I am no longer on MTGS staff, so please don't contact me asking me to do staff things. :|
  • #3
    Quote from Binary
    So yes it's general damage, but it's a different general.


    Gotcha... So just to be clear... If he some how kills Kartthus and I can get 21 damage with his Mimeo I can still win the game as long as it is 21 damage from the same general?

    Commander
    G Ezuri, Renegade Leader G
    GW Sigarda, Host of Herons WG

    Legacy
    GU 12 Post UG

    Trade Thread: Click Here
    Image Disclaimer: Please review User Notes before clicking infraction.
  • #4
    Yes, a player can lose the game due to taking 21 combat damage from their own general, if someone else steals it somehow. (If that means you win depends on if anyone else if playing!)
  • #5
    What if the opposing player allows his general to be put into the graveyard and Mimeoplasm copy's that card, is that 2 types of general damage, the copied general's damage, or Mimeoplasm's damage?
    I do NOT recommend CCGHouse.com

    The Walking Dead - Legacy
    Trade me for my Tundra and U. Sea!
    [red]If you sent me 2 Theros Thoughtseize, please PM me immediately.[/red]
  • #6
    "Generalness" is a property of the actual physical card that is the general. Copies of a general do not deal damage as if they were that general. It would be general damage from the mimeoplasm.
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes