Deathtouch v. Hexproof

  • #1
    Does hexproof prevent death touch?
  • #2
    No. Deathtouch does not target.
    DCI Level 2 Judge

    It is well known that most people don’t listen. They use the time when someone else is speaking to think of what they’re going to say next.
    - Terry Pratchet, Pyramids
  • #3
    No. Deathtouch does not target anything. The only things that can target are spells, activated abilities and triggered abilities that use the stack, and the only ones that do are those that use the actual word 'target' in rules text. Deathtouch represents only a static ability and it doesn't use the word 'target'.
    DCI Lvl 1 Judge

    Madness, My Sadness
    I Am My Own Savior
    -Iced Earth
  • #4
    No it doesn't. Deathtouch on a creature just means that if that creature deals damage to another creature, be it combat or non-combat, that the creature dealt damage will be destroyed. The deathtouch ability doesn't target anything so hexproof will not save a creature dealt damage with deathtouch.
    DCI Level 2 Judge
  • #5
    Here's the official rule for Deathtouch.

    702.2b Any nonzero amount of combat damage assigned to a creature by a source with deathtouch is considered to be lethal damage, regardless of that creature‘s toughness.

    It doesn't actually "destroy" the creature, it just changes the definition of lethal damage from the source it's on.
    "If you don't wear your seatbelt, the police will shoot you in the head."
    - To my youngest sister when she was 6.



    Everyone knows that good luck and good game are such insincere terms that any man who does not connect his right hook with the offender's jaw on the very utterance of such a phrase is no man I would consider as such.




    Quote from Ninja Caterpie

    Last time it went large-small-large, it went "happy adventure land", "mana filled happy adventure land", "DEAD MANA ELDRAZI OVERRUN SAD DEFENSE LAND."
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes