Mutilate: only affects creatures in play or everything until EOT

  • #1
    Hi,
    This came up in a Commander game last night. I control a Reassembling Skeleton. One of the other players casts Mutilate with a lot of swamps in play, say 8. After Mutilate resolves and everything goes to the graveyard, I pay 1B to return Reassembling Skeleton to play again on my side the next time I get priority (say at the end of the players' turn who cast Mutilate).

    My friend says that the Reassembling Skeleton dies again because of the Mutilate cast earlier in the turn still having an effect on the board ("All creatures get -1/-1 until end of turn..."). My stance is that since this version of the Reassembling Skeleton was not in play when Mutilate resolved, it doesn't get the -8/-8 and stays in play. Who is right?

    Thanks!
    "Here's that pain you ordered!"

    Current Favorite decks:
    GBGlissa EDHGB
  • #2
    You are right. The objects that the continuous effects like create are "locked in" when the spell resolves, they are not constantly applied throughout a turn for that you need a static ability such as Night of Soul's Betrayal

    Edit: Relavent Rule

    Quote from CR »

    611.2c If a continuous effect generated by the resolution of a spell or ability modifies the
    characteristics or changes the controller of any objects, the set of objects it affects is determined
    when that continuous effect begins. After that point, the set won‘t change. (Note that this works
    differently than a continuous effect from a static ability.) A continuous effect generated by the
    resolution of a spell or ability that doesn‘t modify the characteristics or change the controller of
    any objects modifies the rules of the game, so it can affect objects that weren‘t affected when
    that continuous effect began.


    Second Edit: Nath'd on the rule part
    Last edited by jdisawesomesauce: 12/3/2011 11:48:56 AM
    Smile your day could be worse, so I did smile and it was worse.
  • #3
    You're right.

    611.2c. If a continuous effect generated by the resolution of a spell or ability modifies the characteristics or changes the controller of any objects, the set of objects it affects is determined when that continuous effect begins. After that point, the set won't change. (Note that this works differently than a continuous effect from a static ability.) A continuous effect generated by the resolution of a spell or ability that doesn't modify the characteristics or change the controller of any objects modifies the rules of the game, so it can affect objects that weren't affected when that continuous effect began.
  • #4
    Awesome thanks for your help!
    "Here's that pain you ordered!"

    Current Favorite decks:
    GBGlissa EDHGB
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes