Copying a spell with X cost?

  • #1
    If i use Riku of Two Reflections to copy a Fireball spitting for ten damage or so, does that copy the amount of damage i'm doing with the first Fireball?, or not? And if it does not copy the damage as well, then do i have the choice to copy it, and pay the X cost again?

    Banner created by me.
    Add me on my MTG Youtube Channel!
  • #2
    When you cast a spell with X in it's cost, it is saved into the cost of the card when you cast it (like X = some number). When you copy this, all information, including the X is copied over. So yes, it will retain the damage for X.

    However, you don't get to pay additional costs of copied spells, and therefore you cannot split the copied fireball (correct me if I'm wrong).

    Take a mechanic from the pre-mirrodin era, and a mechanic after the mirrodin era, and create a card that flavorfully melds both mechanics.
  • #3
    Yes it will copy the fireball with X=10, when a spell or effect on the stack is copied it will make an exact copy of that spell including targets, the value of X, modes, color, etc (unless otherwise specified). In most cases the copy effect will tell you that you can choose a new target, like the Riku does. Also note that if you choose to have multiple targets for the fireball, the copy will have the same number of targets, though you can choose new targets for each one.
    Last edited by Segoth: 11/6/2011 8:18:30 PM
    DCI Level 2 Judge
  • #4
    Quote from Segoth
    Yes it will copy the fireball with X=10, when a spell or effect on the stack is copied it will make an exact copy of that spell including targets, the value of X, modes, color, etc (unless otherwise specified). In most cases the copy effect will tell you that you can choose a new target, like the Riku does. Also note that if you choose to have multiple targets for the fireball, the copy will have the same number of targets, though you can choose new targets for each one.


    Also note that unlike certain other red X spells, Fireball divides its damage on resolution. So if certain targets are dead, the damage does not get split to them.

    Example:
    Your opponent has 3 3/3 creatures. You cast Fireball with x=9 on 3 targets: Your opponent, creature A, and Creature B. You copy the fireball. You must choose three targets. You choose your opponent, Creature B and Creature C.
    The Copy resolves first, and splits 9 damage between the 3 targets, 3 to each. Your opponent takes 3 damage, and 2 of his creatures die.
    The Original fireball now resolves, but one of the targets is dead. It now splits the 9 damage between 2 targets, dealing 4 to each (Fireball rounds down).

    This is important to know when throwing around fireballs and needing to overlap targets between the original and the copy.
    EDH: Cromat | Tibor and Lumia[] | Vaevictis Asmadi | Nemata[Primer] | Ramirez dePietro[Pirate] Edric[C] | Kazuul[$50] | Tariel | Riku[$50] | Chainer | Evil Sygg | Jenara | Lazav | Daxos For brief descriptions of my EDH decks, or to view some of my casual creations, you can check out my Blog Post.
    <-
    ->
    I moderate the Commander Forums. Feel free to jump in my help desk if you have any questions for me.
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes