Planeswalkers & Summoning Sickness

  • #1
    Do Planeswalker's have summoning sickness, or can you use one of their abilities the turn it comes into play? I looked over the Comprehensive Rules and saw nothing that would say one or the other.

    Thanks.

    Signature Created By: DarkNightCavalier
  • #2
    Quote from FusionGT
    Do Planeswalker's have summoning sickness, or can you use one of their abilities the turn it comes into play? I looked over the Comprehensive Rules and saw nothing that would say one or the other.


    Here's the rule:
    212.3f A creature's activated ability with the tap symbol or the untap symbol in its activation cost can't be played unless the creature has been under its controller's control since the start of his or her most recent turn. A creature can't attack unless it has been under its controller's control since the start of his or her most recent turn. This rule is informally called the "summoning sickness" rule. Ignore this rule for creatures with haste (see rule 502.5).

    A planeswalker is not a creature, and its activated abilities don't have the tap symbol or untap symbol in their cost, so the summoning sickness rule doesn't apply. You can play a planeswalker's ability right away.
    Level 2 Magic Judge

    Please use card tags when you're asking a question about specific cards: [c]Serra Angel[/c] -> Serra Angel.
  • #3
    Thank you so much for the quick response. Actually heading to play cards with them right now, I'll have to let them know. Really appreciate it.

    Signature Created By: DarkNightCavalier
  • #4
    How about on the end step? Say you have a Gideon that was bounced by Venser? Can Gideon still +2 on the end step?

    Thanks

    Please don't raise dead threads from their grave, especially not to ask an entirely different question after over two years. -Carsten
    Last edited by CarstenHaese: 11/6/2011 11:45:05 PM
  • #5
    Quote from xtian15
    How about on the end step? Say you have a Gideon that was bounced by Venser? Can Gideon still +2 on the end step?

    Thanks


    Loyalty abilities can only be activated anytime you could cast a sorcery, which is during either main phase, when you have priority and the stack is empty. You will not be able to activate it during the end step.

    DCI MTG Level 2 Judge

    Simple math kids:

    Redhead + Tsundere = Win
    Shimapan + Thigh Highs = Win
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes