Sturmgeist and Sturmgeist

  • #1
    If I have a Sturmgeist from Innistrad and a Sturmgeist (a german language Storm Spirit from the Ice Age expansion) in my hand and my opponent casts Cabal Therapy naming "Sturmgeist"... what happens? Do I have to discard both the english Sturmgeist and the german Sturmgeist?

    What happens if I'm also listening to Sturmgeist?

    Quote from Sheldon
    Yeah, complaining about getting beaten by Ib Halfheart, Goblin Tactician is pretty sad.
  • #2
    Unless you are playing in a tournament in a foreign language, named cards use the english name (which is why you can have 4 sturmgeist and 4 sturmgeist in your deck).

    If you are listening to Sturmgeist, then you must remove the listening device from your hands.
    EDH: Cromat | Tibor and Lumia[] | Vaevictis Asmadi | Nemata[Primer] | Ramirez dePietro[Pirate] Edric[C] | Kazuul[$50] | Tariel | Riku[$50] | Chainer | Evil Sygg | Jenara | Lazav | Daxos For brief descriptions of my EDH decks, or to view some of my casual creations, you can check out my Blog Post.
    <-
    ->
    I moderate the Commander Forums. Feel free to jump in my help desk if you have any questions for me.
  • #3
    I disagree. You are only told to discard cards named Sturmgeist, and even if you weren't, the listening device itself is not named Sturmgeist.

    Also, its determined by the English name for all tournaments. There are cards with the same names in other languages, I believe. Contemplation and Contemplation, for example.
  • #4
    What if I were the opponent and would get confused about which card I want to get rid off? If I want to get rid off Ponder but only remember the french name Contemplation (it stuck in my mind because it might as well be an english word), how should I act to make sure there aren't any misunderstandings?
    Quote from Shivan D
    Blightsteel Colossus is impervious to the Wrath of God, but it will soon be able to die by slipping and falling down.
  • #5
    Quote from TDHSolomon
    What if I were the opponent and would get confused about which card I want to get rid off? If I want to get rid off Ponder but only remember the french name Contemplation (it stuck in my mind because it might as well be an english word), how should I act to make sure there aren't any misunderstandings?


    You can always call a judge and request the oracle text. Otherwise uniquely describe the card so there is no confusion.
    Level 3 Magic Judge

    "To face death, that's nothing much. But to feel really stupid when you die, well, that would be insufferable." -Nafai, The Ships of Earth

    Ever wanted to know what guidelines Judges use to make rulings? Find out at the DCI Document Center.

    You can also find the latest Comprehensive Rules here.
  • #6
    Quote from TDHSolomon
    What if I were the opponent and would get confused about which card I want to get rid off? If I want to get rid off Ponder but only remember the french name Contemplation (it stuck in my mind because it might as well be an english word), how should I act to make sure there aren't any misunderstandings?


    If you can describe the card so that it is clear what you mean, that is acceptable. For example, you could say "the card that lets you look at the top 3 and shuffle then draw". You can always ask a judge for the name of a card in this manner too.
    DCI Level 2 Judge
  • #7
    Question answered, thread locked.
    Level 2 Magic Judge

    Please use card tags when you're asking a question about specific cards: [c]Serra Angel[/c] -> Serra Angel.
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes