Multiple instances of abilities

  • #1
    Can a creature have multiple instances of abilities? For example a Vampire Nighthawk with Vampiric Link will have lifelink twice and therefore cause me to gain 4 life when it causes 2 damage?
  • #2
    Before the rules change of M10, this was the case with lifelink, but no longer. Things like first strike, double strike, flying, lifelink, and haste don't cause any extra effect when doubled up.
    My 450 Peasant Cube
    Proud creator of the Modern Uroboros Primer and the Pauper Boros Landfall Primer
    My Trade Thread and Buylist
    Rules Advisor
    Modern: WBRUroborosRBW BRGLiving EndGRB
    Legacy: UHigh TideU
    EDH: GAzusa, Lost but SeekingG URGAnimar, Soul of ElementsGRU

    The only thing more annoying than the "dies to removal" argument is the constant assertion that the creature in question would be better with hexproof.
  • #3
    Note that it will have lifelink twice, it just won't do anything.
    DCI Level 2 Judge

    It is well known that most people don’t listen. They use the time when someone else is speaking to think of what they’re going to say next.
    - Terry Pratchet, Pyramids
  • #4
    Quote from Dravonic
    Can a creature have multiple instances of abilities?


    The short answer: yes.
    The long answer: Whether having multiple instances of abilities actually means something depends on the ability. Multiple instances of the same evasion ability are typically not useful. Multiple instances of, say, flanking are useful.

    Consulting the entry for a particular keyword ability in the comprehensive rules will usually tell you the relevance of having multiple instances of that ability.
    I am no longer on MTGS staff, so please don't contact me asking me to do staff things. :|
  • #5
    Wasn't there a case of certain card that allowed to gain effect of double lifelink (twice the health gain) but the gain effect triggered at different combat timing conditions?
    Key was wording of the conditions of life gain in ability... My memory fails me with the card i mean...

    sorry to barge in with the question.
  • #6
    Quote from kielus
    Wasn't there a case of certain card that allowed to gain effect of double lifelink (twice the health gain) but the gain effect triggered at different combat timing conditions?
    Lifelink with Double Strike will let you gain the life twice, since you did the damage twice. You can also stack Spirit Link-type effects, since they're triggered abilities, not Lifelink. (And triggered abilities such as Spirit Link will stack with the keyword ability Lifelink.)
  • #7
    What i had on my mind was Spirit Link Indeed! Thanks Lithl.
  • #8
    Note that Vampiric Link doesn't give the creature lifelink.
    Level 2 DCI Judge.
  • #9
    Do multiple instances of deathtouch cause a creature to be destroyed multiple times, then? (for purposes of Regeneration shields, for example)
  • #10
    No, that follows the same logic as Lifelink and Infect. It just changes the definition of Lethal Damage form a source with it, so multiple instances are redundant.
    "If you don't wear your seatbelt, the police will shoot you in the head."
    - To my youngest sister when she was 6.



    Everyone knows that good luck and good game are such insincere terms that any man who does not connect his right hook with the offender's jaw on the very utterance of such a phrase is no man I would consider as such.




    Quote from Ninja Caterpie

    Last time it went large-small-large, it went "happy adventure land", "mana filled happy adventure land", "DEAD MANA ELDRAZI OVERRUN SAD DEFENSE LAND."
  • #11
    Quote from Dravonic
    For example a Vampire Nighthawk with Vampiric Link will have lifelink twice and therefore cause me to gain 4 life when it causes 2 damage?
    Vampire Nighthawk with Vampiric Link will NOT have lifelink twice.

    That example creature will have the Nighthawk's original instance of lifelink. Additionally, whenever Nighthawk deals damage, the Vampiric Link will set up a trigger that gains you that much life.

    Therefore, a Vampire Nighthawk that hits something for 2 damage will gain you 4 life total.

    Note the difference in the Oracle wordings between the cards Vampiric Link and Lifelink.
  • #12
    Vampire Nighthawk with Vampiric Link does in fact result in two instances of life gain. Lifelink is a static ability - a latent characteristic of damage that is non-cumulative, and does not use the stack. Triggered abilities, such as that of Vampiric Link, use the stack, and are cumulative. So, a creature with lifelink, lifelink, and Vampiric Link, would result in life gain when damage resolves, and again as the Vampiric Link trigger resolves. On the other hand, if a creature with lifelink and two Vampiric Link's were to deal damage, it would result in life gain when damage results, and again as the two independent triggers resolve.
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes