Fight + deathtouch/first strike

  • #1
    Need some help on a resolution here:

    1) Prey Upon is played, naming Typhoid Rats and Primeval Titan. Do they both die, or just the rats?

    2) Prey Upon is played, naming Typhoid Rats and Village Ironsmith. Do they both die, or just the rats?

    Thank you very much.
    ...but then again, I don't really know what I'm talking about.
  • #2
    1) Both die. Deathtouch works on any damage.

    2) Both die. First strike only does something in combat.
    DCI Level 2 Judge

    It is well known that most people don’t listen. They use the time when someone else is speaking to think of what they’re going to say next.
    - Terry Pratchet, Pyramids
  • #3
    The answer to both of your questions is: both of them die. This is because Deathtouch "works" during a fight, while First Strike does not. I realize this is a little counter-intuitive, but the way First Strike actually works is to create an additional damage step in the combat phase. Since the fight mechanic isn't the same thing as your combat phase, First Strike never triggers.

    Think of it this way - Fight just makes both creatures do damage to each other. Period.
    Last edited by Goryus: 9/26/2011 1:32:38 PM
    If God spoke to you, and commanded you to kill your own children, would you do it?

    If your answer is "No," then your morality does not come from God's commandments.

    If your answer is "Yes," then please, please reconsider.
  • #4
    Thanks. That's what I told him.
    ...but then again, I don't really know what I'm talking about.
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes