blood moon

  • #1
    if blood moon is into play will artefact lands like ancien den keep his artefact type??

    is it artefact land mountain or is it just mountain???
  • #2
    Yes, Blood Moon is a subtype-changing effect, which means it will replace the land types (which, by definition, are subtypes which lands can have) with Mountain. It will also remove all abilities the land had before. However, Artifact is neither a subtype nor an ability, it is a regular type, so the Blood Moon won't touch it.
    Image removed due to its file extension: http://tinyurl.com/5facyl

    Image removed due to its file extension: http://tinyurl.com/672bmg

    Image removed due to its file extension: http://tinyurl.com/6xqak2
    Image removed due to its file extension: http://tinyurl.com/6k87vo
    Image removed due to its file extension: http://tinyurl.com/6dgj46
    Image removed due to its file extension: http://tinyurl.com/5ctwzw


    Winner of the Weekly Signature & Avatar Contest Weeks 51, 59, 78, & 118.


    Originally posted by Yawgmoth_Demon
    I don't care if I was framed for murder if I only got a warning I would let it go.
  • #3
    Well, since we are on the blood moon topic. How does blood moon interact with Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth?

    Will it makes a difference if blood moon hits play first or Urborg hits play first?

    This one always confuses me. Thanks!
  • #4
    It doesn't matter which order they come into play.
    Quote from Autocard du jour »
    01/04/2008 If Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth and either Blood Moon or Magus of the Moon are in play, all nonbasic lands will be Mountains, not Swamps. Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth will be a Mountain as well. It will have "{T}: Add R to your mana pool" and no other abilities.
  • #5
    Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth

    MajoraX is correct. The reason for that is dependencies. Both effects are type-changing effects, so they are both applied in Layer 4. Now applying the Blood Moon's effect will remove the Urborg's ability entirely, so it most certainly changes the ability or what it applies to. Therefore, Urborg's ability is dependent on Blood Moon's (but, importantly, not vice versa since Urborg doesn't change what is and isn't a basic land), so we apply Blood Moon's ability first.

    The result is that Urborg no longer has an ability to apply, it will simply sit there and tap for :symr:. Note that this means basic lands won't get the swamp subtype (where they would have if we'd applied the abilities in the other order).
    Image removed due to its file extension: http://tinyurl.com/5facyl

    Image removed due to its file extension: http://tinyurl.com/672bmg

    Image removed due to its file extension: http://tinyurl.com/6xqak2
    Image removed due to its file extension: http://tinyurl.com/6k87vo
    Image removed due to its file extension: http://tinyurl.com/6dgj46
    Image removed due to its file extension: http://tinyurl.com/5ctwzw


    Winner of the Weekly Signature & Avatar Contest Weeks 51, 59, 78, & 118.


    Originally posted by Yawgmoth_Demon
    I don't care if I was framed for murder if I only got a warning I would let it go.
  • #6
    I think I´ve read somewhere that Urborg will be a mountain while all others are swamp, mountain-lands. But I´m absolutly not sure about that so I leave it to the rules Gurus!
    Edit:
    Ok sorry! So you see I was unsure ^^

    But I´ve also got a questions regarding Blood Moon / Magus of the Moon:

    What happens if I play Vesuva or if I have City of Traitors in play playing another City? Or cards like New Benalia or Llanowar Reborn.
    As far as I understand the rules you don´t choose a land for Vesuva so its just a mountain (if blood moon leaves play, it does nothing), 2x City is no problem aswell as they are just mountains and Benalia as well as Llanowar don´t do/get anything either.
    ---------------------------------
    My old poll: "Returning to Ulgrotha"
    ---------------------------------
    Supporter of the theory 1+1=2 aka take the simple solution...:rolleyes:
  • #7
    You will choose a land for Vesuva to copy - However, all lands are mountains so it won't really matter (unless you wanted to gain some type by copying an Artifact Land)

    City of Traitors lost its triggered ability when it became a mountain. You won't have to worry about it.
    Llanowar Reborn will come into play with a +1/+1 counter on it, but you won't be able to transfer it.
    New Benalia will lose its trigger.

    The important thing to remember here is that "as ~ comes into play" abilities replace coming into play normally with something else (like coming into play tapped). They aren't affected by Blood Moon because they aren't in play yet. "When ~ comes into play" abilities won't trigger, because they trigger from play - but the ability doesn't exist.
    Last edited by MajoraX: 1/15/2009 5:37:30 PM
  • #8
    But this:
    It immediately changes a non-basic land entering play into a Mountain, and it does so before abilities that trigger on the original entering play trigger. [D'Angelo 1999/08/01]
    seems to say you don´t even are allowed to choose doesn´t it?
    ---------------------------------
    My old poll: "Returning to Ulgrotha"
    ---------------------------------
    Supporter of the theory 1+1=2 aka take the simple solution...:rolleyes:
  • #9


    I think I´ve read somewhere that Urborg will be a mountain while all others are swamp, mountain-lands. But I´m absolutly not sure about that so I leave it to the rules Gurus!


    Nope because of depencency Urborg becomes a mountain first, loses all abilities and therefor other lands stay as they are.

    To the next question, it matters. All replacementeffects changing the way the land comes into play still apply (this includes coming into play tapped, the +1/+1 counter on Llanowar Reborn and Vesuvas ability). Everything else like cip triggered abilities don't happen. So you won't have to sac city of traitors, you can't scry from new benalia and Llanowar reborn's graft ability won't trigger on creatures coming into play



    But this:
    Quote:
    It immediately changes a non-basic land entering play into a Mountain, and it does so before abilities that trigger on the original entering play trigger. [D'Angelo 1999/08/01]
    seems to say you don´t even are allowed to choose doesn´t it?


    No, all of those "things" that happens are replacementseffects altering the way the land comes into play. They still apply. Triggered abilities (When <snöt> comes into play...) won't trigger. Those are two completely different things

    Thnx to Starkiller2 for the signature Smile

    9 Paulo Vitor D. da Rosa Win 1916
  • #10
    So just for rules understanding, Vesuva´s, Llanowar´s and Benalia´s abilities are replacements effect and thus not triggered?
    ---------------------------------
    My old poll: "Returning to Ulgrotha"
    ---------------------------------
    Supporter of the theory 1+1=2 aka take the simple solution...:rolleyes:
  • #11
    Yes.
    Note that Llanowar and Benalia have both a triggered and a replacement ability. The replacement applies but not the triggered.

    Triggered abilities always start with "when" "whenever" or "at."
  • #12
    Thank you very much!
    ---------------------------------
    My old poll: "Returning to Ulgrotha"
    ---------------------------------
    Supporter of the theory 1+1=2 aka take the simple solution...:rolleyes:
  • #13
    Quote from drakelordphil
    So just for rules understanding, Vesuva´s, Llanowar´s and Benalia´s abilities are replacements effect and thus not triggered?


    Ja and yes they are Wink

    Thnx to Starkiller2 for the signature Smile

    9 Paulo Vitor D. da Rosa Win 1916
  • #14
    Saw a ruling on Blood Moon that I wasn't sure about...

    Does Blood Moon change the type of land from say non-basic to basic? Someone told me it doesn't and I want to make sure of it.

    Please let dead threads rest in peace. This should've been a new thread. -Carsten
    Last edited by CarstenHaese: 9/7/2011 8:36:37 AM
    Quote from Megiddo
    Next time you ask me if I want to see your gun, I'm saying no.


    Quote from Iso
    Quote from Void
    Quote from Iso

    But...this is for mostly clan people. Weird


    Do you want this game to launch or not? Wink
    NO. GrumpyCat
    Quote from kingcobweb
    Something Awful has one that does automated votecounts (and supports nicknames).
    Quote from Azrael
    Automatic vote-counts?!

    *pees pants*
  • #15
    Cards in MTG only do what they say they do, no more no less. Blood moon only changes the cards subtype to Mountain and in doing so remove all rules text and add t : add R to your mana pool.

    Since it does not mention adding supertypes or changing card types it doesn't effect them.


    Every normal man must be tempted, at times, to spit on his hands, hoist the black flag and start slitting throats.
    - H.L Mencken

    I Became insane with long Intervals of horrible Sanity

    All Religion, my friend is simply evolved out of fraud, fear, greed, imagination and poetry.
    - Edgar Allan Poe

    The Crafters' Rules Guru

    My helpdesk
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes