Sometimes I have a trouble with Instants and when multiple ones are played on one another.
Say someone is defending against me, and I declare an attacker, he does not choose to block, but plays a Doom Blade, which would kill my creature. If I throw a kicked Vines of Vastwood, which gives him +4/+4 and more or less makes him immune to abilities, does he still get killed by Doom blade or does Vines protect him? If I played a kicked Vines first, obviously Doomblade wouldn't be able to do anything.
My other question regards the Hexproof ability. This prevents the opponent from casting spells like the aforementioned Doom Blade, but does it prevent creature abilities, that come into play with tap or pay abilities, or abilities like infect? I assume that Hexproof makes the creature immune to ANY ability, but I want to be sure.
1) If you cast the kicked Vines first and then he cast the Doom Blade in response, your creature would die because the Vines would resolve after the Doom Blade. If you cast Vines in response to Doom Blade, the creature would live because Vines would resolve first, effectively giving your creature hexproof.
This is because when someone casts a spell and you respond, the stack looks like this:
And then resolves top-down. When it's Doom Blade's turn to resolve, the creature will not be a valid target, making Doom Blade fizzle. On the other hand, if you go Vines and your opponent responds with Doom Blade, it would look like this:
Doom Blade would resolve first, destroying the creature and fizzling Vines.
2) Hexproof prevents anything that uses the word 'target' from targeting the creature. If the spell/ability doesn't use 'target,' it will work on the creature. That includes infect and anything that would affect the creature but doesn't explicitly use the word 'target,' like Day of Judgment or Black Sun's Zenith or Pyroclasm or Consuming Vapors.
Say my opponent has a Royal Assassin, and taps it to kill my tapped Goblin Piker.
In response, I Shock the Assassin.
The stack now looks like
Since I have shocked the Assassin, does my creature still die?
Yes. This rule is relevant:
112.7a Once activated or triggered, an ability exists on the stack independently of its source. Destruction or removal of the source after that time won’t affect the ability.
The usual analogy here is: I throw a grenade at you. Then you shoot me. I'm dead, but that doesn't un-throw the grenade. Similarly, once a creature's ability has been activated and put on the stack (and you don't get priority during the process of activation, so no way to interrupt and kill the Assassin before it finishes activating), killing the creature doesn't "un-activate" its ability.