Gain control/Enter the battlefield

  • #1
    Sower of Temptation
    Riku of Two Reflections

    Wondering if gaining control (of a creature) allows the target to enter the battlefield under my control, ergo allowing me to create a copy of the creature with Riku

    Thanks.
    Image removed due to its file extension: http://tinyurl.com/3sc2rwb


    Much thanks to Heroes of the Plane Studios for the siggy! Rolleyes

    [EDH Decks]
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    WBG ~Teneb, the Harvester; Boardwipes FTW~ GBW

    WUR ~Numot, the Devestator; Mid-Range Stax~ RUW

    [EDH in Progress]
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    URG ~Riku of Two Reflections; Clones and Copies~ GRU

    WUB ~Sharuum, the Hegemon; Stax Control~ BUW

    Generation 14: The first time you see this, add it to your sig, but add 1 to the number. Call it a social experiment.
  • #3
    No. Control effects don't cause the creature to change zones. There is only one battlefield zone. The physical arrangement generally indicates who controls which permanents, but doesn't actually mean anything to the game.
    Level 3 Judge

    This FAQ answers many of the common questions asked in the MTGS Rulings forum. Take a look! Smile

    I'm the editor/content manager of the Magic Rules Tips Blog - Bookmark this site for daily tips about game and tournament rules.

    "Abstract concepts of perfect judging run headlong into the realities of how people play the game." - Toby Elliott (papa_funk)

    My Type 4 Stack -- DCI Documents -- Comp Rules
  • #2
    Nope. When a creature changes control, it becomes summoning sick, but it never left or entered the battlefield. Riku only triggers on permanents entering the battlefield, meaning they have to come from somewhere else.
    My Moderator Helpdesk
    Currently Playing:
    Legacy: Something U/W Controlish
    EDH Cube
    Hypercube! A New EDH Deck Every Week(ish)!
  • #4
    No, the target does not enter the battlefield, it was already on the battlefield to be a legal target, its controller just changes due to sower's ability
    Smile your day could be worse, so I did smile and it was worse.
  • #5
    Oh well it was worth a shot I guess. Thanks very much
    Image removed due to its file extension: http://tinyurl.com/3sc2rwb


    Much thanks to Heroes of the Plane Studios for the siggy! Rolleyes

    [EDH Decks]
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    WBG ~Teneb, the Harvester; Boardwipes FTW~ GBW

    WUR ~Numot, the Devestator; Mid-Range Stax~ RUW

    [EDH in Progress]
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    URG ~Riku of Two Reflections; Clones and Copies~ GRU

    WUB ~Sharuum, the Hegemon; Stax Control~ BUW

    Generation 14: The first time you see this, add it to your sig, but add 1 to the number. Call it a social experiment.
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes