Phyrexian Metamorph Targets

  • #1
    If Phyrexian Metamorph targets an Inkmoth Nexus after it has been anmiated, what will it be, and what will it become at the end of turn?

    Same goes for Gideon Jura. After animating Gideon, will the Metamorph become a 6/6 soldier that is also a planeswalker, and thus destroy both cards? Thanks.
    Sig:
    :uhh:Too lazy to make a new sig
  • #2
    Quote from coyotemoon722
    If Phyrexian Metamorph targets an Inkmoth Nexus after it has been anmiated, what will it be, and what will it become at the end of turn?

    Same goes for Gideon Jura. After animating Gideon, will the Metamorph become a 6/6 soldier that is also a planeswalker, and thus destroy both cards? Thanks.


    This has to do with the 7 layers. Copying is layer #1, meaning its applied beneath all other things.

    But 1st: Phyrexian metamorph does not target.
    So when phyrexian metamorph enters the battlefield as a copy of another card it doesnt have any of its attributes. For example, phyrexian metamorph will enter the battlefield as a copy of inkmoth nexus, it will not be a creature. After the cleanup step, it will also not be a creature.

    For gideon, both metamorph and planeswalker will be sent to the graveyard as a state based action (not destruction). However, it will not have entered the battlefield as a creature nor would it have been a creature at any point (you would not receive time to activate your gideon metamorph before state based actions invoke the planeswalker uniqueness rule.
    Level 2 Judge
    Legacy:WUBG Jace Rock


    Trade thread


    Sig by: heroes of the plane studios
  • #3
    Effects thast modify the characteristics of objects are not copied, unless those effects are copy effects.

    Quote from coyotemoon722
    If Phyrexian Metamorph targets an Inkmoth Nexus after it has been anmiated, what will it be, and what will it become at the end of turn?
    It will be an artifact land named Inkmoth Nexus.

    Same goes for Gideon Jura. After animating Gideon, will the Metamorph become a 6/6 soldier that is also a planeswalker, and thus destroy both cards? Thanks.
    YThe Metamorph becomes an Artifact Planeswalker - Gideon. it will not be a creature. Since you now have two Planeswalker permanents with the Gideon subtype on the battlefield, both are sent to their owner's graveyards before either player can do anything.
    Lapsed Rules Adviser.
  • #4
    706.2. When copying an object, the copy acquires the copiable values of the original object’s
    characteristics and, for an object on the stack, choices made when casting or activating it (mode,
    targets, the value of X, whether it was kicked, how it will affect multiple targets, and so on). The
    “copiable values” are the values derived from the text printed on the object (that text being name,
    mana cost, card type, subtype, supertype, expansion symbol, rules text, power, toughness, and/or
    loyalty), as modified by other copy effects, by “as . . . enters the battlefield” and “as . . . is turned
    face up” abilities that set characteristics, and by abilities that caused the object to be face down.

    Other effects (including type-changing and text-changing effects), status, and counters are not
    copied.

    Example: Chimeric Staff is an artifact that reads “{X}: Chimeric Staff becomes an X/X
    artifact creature until end of turn.” Clone is a creature that reads, “You may have Clone
    enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield.” After a Staff has become a
    5/5 artifact creature, a Clone enters the battlefield as a copy of it. The Clone is an artifact,
    not a 5/5 artifact creature. (The copy has the Staff’s ability, however, and will become a
    creature if that ability is activated.)
    Example: Clone enters the battlefield as a copy of a face-down Grinning Demon (a creature
    with morph {2}{B}{B}). The Clone is a colorless 2/2 creature with no name, no types, no
    abilities, and no mana cost. It will still be face up. Its controller can’t pay {2}{B}{B} to turn
    it face up.


    when you use cards with copy effect,
    you only copy the copyable values of the original object.

    the underlined part also emphasized that the effect that turns Inkmoth Nexus or Gideon into a creature (type-changing effect),
    is not copied.

    so in your case,
    you'll get an unanimated Inkmoth Nexus (that is also an artifact)
    and nothing special happens at the end of turn,
    since it's not a creature.

    or an unanimated Gideon Jura (that is also an artifact),
    that is a planeswalker with the same planeswalker type as the original,
    and both will be put into graveyard due to planeswalker uniqueness rule,
    (NOT destroyed, the word destroy has significant meaning in MTG, and it's not applied here, since indestructibility won't save it)
    Last edited by Vaires: 6/3/2011 12:07:52 PM
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes