casting a suspend card

  • #1
    Hi, I'm a bit confused about the timing of when you are able to cast a suspended card that no longer has any counters on it.

    For example, if I have a suspended lightning bolt with 3 counters on it at the beginning of my upkeep. I remove a counter for the upkeep, then draw a fury charm. I cast the fury charm to remove the remaining 2 counters, am I able to cast the lightning bolt now (during the main phase) or do I have to wait until the next upkeep? What if I removed the remaining 2 counters during my opponents turn? Could I then cast the lightning bolt on his/her turn?

    It's pretty much the wording of "At the beginning of your upkeep, remove a time counter. When the last is removed, cast it without paying its mana cost." Is that part of the upkeep trigger or just whenever the last is removed and during any phase?

  • #2
    "When" denotes a triggered ability. Therefore, whenever the condition is satisfied (the last counter is removed" the effect is generated. Therefore, it will be cast when you remove the last counter as it states. Commonly, it happens during the upkeep, since that is when you remove the last counter most of the time.
    Junk Aristocrats-9-0 top 8'd SCG Somerset 7/27/13
    Top4 PTQ 8/11/13
    11th GP Louisville.
    TES
    mario91234 on MTGO and Twitch
  • #3
    Suspend actually indicates two triggered abilities while the card is exiled with time counters on it. One is: "At the beginning of your upkeep, remove a time counter from this." The other is "When the last time counter is removed from this, cast this without paying its mana cost." These abilities are independent. Any time a suspended card has its last time counter removed, the ability will trigger telling you to cast it immediately if able (immediately as the triggered ability instructing you to cast it resolves, that is).
    Level 3 Judge

    This FAQ answers many of the common questions asked in the MTGS Rulings forum. Take a look! Smile

    I'm the editor/content manager of the Magic Rules Tips Blog - Bookmark this site for daily tips about game and tournament rules.

    "Abstract concepts of perfect judging run headlong into the realities of how people play the game." - Toby Elliott (papa_funk)

    My Type 4 Stack -- DCI Documents -- Comp Rules
  • #4
    ooh ok. So I'm guessing that once the last counter is removed, the timing restriction of the card type then applies.

    thanks guys

  • #5
    Actually, there is no timing restriction on the card when the last counter is removed. It will be cast as soon as that counter is removed, whether it is an instant, creature, sorcery etc
    Do you play Magic in the Niagara Region in Ontario? Check out our facebook group!

    http://www.facebook.com/groups/416755838359501/
    Rules Advisor - As of Monday June 27, 2011
    L1 - As of December 16, 2012
  • #6
    No, the timing restriction does not apply. When you are instructed to cast a spell during the resolution of a spell or ability, normal timing restrictions are ignored. Only explicit restrictions such as "Cast this only during combat" or similar would apply. You may cast a sorcery or any permanent card during the resolution of the supend trigger.

    I said "if able" because it's possible that the suspended card could require an additional cost to cast it that you can't or don't want to pay, or it requires targets but there are no legal targets to choose, or it has a special timing restriction, or Teferi, Mage of Zhalfir says you can't cast it.
    Last edited by bimmerbot: 5/9/2011 6:57:20 PM
    Level 3 Judge

    This FAQ answers many of the common questions asked in the MTGS Rulings forum. Take a look! Smile

    I'm the editor/content manager of the Magic Rules Tips Blog - Bookmark this site for daily tips about game and tournament rules.

    "Abstract concepts of perfect judging run headlong into the realities of how people play the game." - Toby Elliott (papa_funk)

    My Type 4 Stack -- DCI Documents -- Comp Rules
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes