Do Auras Target?

  • #1
    Ok, my opponent tries to enchant his creature with Eldrazi Conscription and I cast Vines of Vastwood targeting his creature. Does that negate the conscription? I seem to remember hearing something in the past about auras not actually targeting the creatures they enchant. Can anyone help me out? Thanks - Chip
    "Behold my nuts, and know that I am your God."
  • #2
    Ok, my opponent tries to enchant his creature with Eldrazi Conscription and I cast Vines of Vastwood targeting his creature. Does that negate the conscription? I seem to remember hearing something in the past about auras not actually targeting the creatures they enchant. Can anyone help me out? Thanks - Chip


    An Aura on the stack targets, an aura on the battlefield does not.

    If you Vines in response to your opponent casting Eldrazi Conscription the Conscription will be countered on resolution.
    Level 3 Magic Judge

    "To face death, that's nothing much. But to feel really stupid when you die, well, that would be insufferable." -Nafai, The Ships of Earth

    Ever wanted to know what guidelines Judges use to make rulings? Find out at the DCI Document Center.

    You can also find the latest Comprehensive Rules here.
  • #3
    Auras do not target as permanents, but they must have appropriate targets when cast as a spell on the stack.

    Here's the official ruling:

    113.1b Aura spells are always targeted. These are the only permanent spells with targets. An Aura’s target is specified by its enchant keyword ability (see rule 702.5, “Enchant”). The target(s) are chosen as the spell is cast; see rule 601.2c. An Aura permanent doesn’t target anything; only the spell is targeted. (An activated or triggered ability of an Aura permanent can also be targeted.)


    MTG Rules Advisor

    Standard
    UW UW Control

    B MBC (developing)

    Legacy
    WUG Bant
  • #4
    Thanks, guys. Problem solved.
    "Behold my nuts, and know that I am your God."
  • #5
    How does Aura targeting and Spellskite activated ability interacts?

    I believe i can steal an aura with it, right?
    EX: i control spellskite, my opponent cast rancor targeting his creature, in response i activate spellskite ability targeting rancor.

    Spellskite should be enchanted by rancor right?

    You need card tags in future posts. Read the Forum Guidelines.

    Also, please let dead threads rest in peace. New questions belong in new threads. -Carsten
    Last edited by CarstenHaese: 4/27/2011 4:58:30 PM
  • #6
    Yes, you can do that. The target of an Aura spell is the object to which it will become attached when it enters play. If the Aura's target changes before it resolves, then so does the object it will attach to.
    I am no longer on MTGS staff, so please don't contact me asking me to do staff things. :|
  • #7
    Quote from diJoints
    How does Aura targeting and Spellskite activated ability interacts?

    I believe i can steal an aura with it, right?
    EX: i control spellskite, my opponent cast rancor targeting his creature, in response i activate spellskite ability targeting rancor.

    Spellskite should be enchanted by rancor right?


    That's correct, as long as Spellskite is a legal target for the Aura. An Aura with "enchant creature" or "enchant permanent" is fine; an aura with "enchant green creature" will not have its target changed when Spellskite's ability resolves.
    Quote from Erostelu
    Maybe this reality is actually an alternate reality of a reality in which New Phyrexia was the joke expansion and Mirrodin Pure was the obvious expansion, except our reality is the Time Shifted reality which is opposite of that other reality which is that actual reality.


    Level 1 Judge. I tweet. Member of clan <Limited>. The Dunning-Kruger effect.
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes