Indestructible creatures and Protection from colors.

  • #1
    I have a couple questions.

    First one is: If I have an indestructible creature, what CAN and CANNOT kill it?

    I need more understanding on this.

    Second one: If I have a creature that has protection from red, such as Kor Firewalker, will Pyroclasm or Slagstorm effect it?

    ALSO: How does Safe passage work? Do I cast it before they cast damage spells or attack, OR do I do it on the stack?

    Please give me explanations regarding these.

    Thank you.
  • #2
    1) Depends on how you define "kill". All Indestructible means is that "destroy" effects are ignored. This includes the SBA that destroys a creature when it has lethal damage marked on it. Every other way to remove that permanent functions quite normally - exile, bounce, sacrifice, reducing toughness, etc. It's hard to give an exhaustive list because there are so many ways to get a card off the battlefield.

    2) No, because protection from a color prevents damage from sources of that color.
  • #3
    oh are you sure? because I thought protection means it cannot be the TARGET of spells. Neither of those target anything such as Day of Judgment.

    And I mean, like if I lightning bolt an indestructible creature, or pyroclasm it, will it be sent to the graveyard?
  • #4
    Quote from cuddlydude25
    If I have an indestructible creature, what CAN and CANNOT kill it?


    It will not care about any effects that use the word "destroy", how much damage it has marked on it or whether damage from a source with deathtouch is dealt to it. Anything that would result in the creature being [u]destroyed[/c] is meaningless to an indestructible creature.

    Anything else works as normal. It can go to the graveyard by being sacrificed or by having its toughness reduced to 0 or less. "Exile" will still move it to the exile zone.

    Quote from cuddlydude25
    If I have a creature that has protection from red, such as Kor Firewalker, will Pyroclasm or Slagstorm effect it?


    The damage those cards would deal to that creature will all be prevented.

    "Protection from [quality]" does these 4 things, abbreviated "DEBT":
    • Damage: All damage from sources that are [quality] dealt to this creature is prevented.
    • Enchanted: This creature can't be enchanted, equipped or fortified by objects that are [quality].
    • Blocked: This creature can't be blocked by creatures that are [quality].
    • Targeted: This can't be targeted by spells that are [quality] or abilities from sources that are [quality].
    • Member: Yes
    • Suspended: No
    • Planeswalker level: 37
    • Pro Tour Players Club level: -
    • Pro Tour Hall of Fame member: No
    • Rules Advisor: Yes
    • Judge level: 2
    • Tournament Organizer: Yes

    Modern should be labeled an Eternal format! Sets enter constantly, but they never leave.
  • #5
    These wikia articles sum it up nicely and provide examples:

    http://mtg.wikia.com/wiki/Indestructible

    http://mtg.wikia.com/wiki/Protection
    Modern:
    G Pumped Elvish Warriors G
    GW Infectious Slivers WG
    WU Milling Allies UW

    Legacy:
    UB Hex-Depths BU (combo-control)
    G NO/Aggro Elves G

    Commander:
    WUBRG Sliver Army GRBUW (multiplayer)
    WUG Rafiq the Exalted GUW (1-on-1 voltron)
    GU Edric's Circus UG (multiplayer tokens)
    B Relentless Rats B (multiplayer combo)
    UB Sygg, the Punisher (in progress)BU
    UBR Nicol Bolas, Elder Dragon Highlander RBU (in progress)
  • #6
    Quote from cuddlydude25
    oh are you sure? because I thought protection means it cannot be the TARGET of spells. Neither of those target anything such as Day of Judgment.
    It also means that. Protection does several things. Protection from X means that the object cannot be:
    Damaged by X;
    Blocked by X;
    Enchanted, equipped, or fortified by X;
    Targeted by X.

    Day of Judgement does none of these things, so protection from white doesn't help against Day of Judgement. But Pyroclasm deals damage, so protection from red saves your creature there.


    And I mean, like if I lightning bolt an indestructible creature, or pyroclasm it, will it be sent to the graveyard?


    No. Damage does not send a creature to the graveyard directly. Damage (if it's greater than or equal to the creature's toughness) causes a creature to be destroyed. That destruction sends the creature to the graveyard. Since the destruction is ignored, ordinary damage is ineffective against indestructible creatures. Note that the damage is still dealt - it's not prevented in any way - the creature just doesn't care.
  • #7
    Quote from cuddlydude25

    ALSO: How does Safe passage work? Do I cast it before they cast damage spells or attack, OR do I do it on the stack?

    Please give me explanations regarding these.



    What ever you Fancy. All of the above are possible. It all comes down to your timing and gameplan:
    - Playing it at the start of the opps turn will cancel out all the damage spells (which will come back next turn) and attacks (unless they plan shenanigans).
    - Playing it when a damage spell is on the stack will cancel out the spell's effect, making them lose the card, but most likely stop them from attack. Which leads them to not be open for your attack next turn.
    - Playing it when attackers are declared will leave their attackers tapped and them open for you. But then again, they could have blasted you with their Fireball.

    All option have pro's and con's. Like casting almost any spell in the game.

    Follow me on Twitter: @JurritW

    Currently Playing, Building, Pimpin':

  • #8
    Protection stops Damage, Equiping/Enchanting, Blocking, and Targeting. Kor firewalker cannot be damaged, equipped, enchanted, blocked, or targeted by anything red. While Pyroclasm does not target, it does damage, which is prevented to the Firewalker. However, Obliterate does not Damage/Enchant/Block/Target, so it will kill Firewalker.

    Indestructible means it cannot be destroyed by lethal damage, nor destroy effects. Lightning Bolt cannot normally kill an indestructible creature, nor can Doom Blade or Day of Judgment. Grasp of Darkness and Path to Exile can, because they don't destroy.
    Level 1 DCI Judge
    Want to know how we make our rulings? Follow the link! DCI Document Center.

    The latest Comprehensive Rules are also good, and can be found here.
  • #9
    Ok thank you so much all of you. That cleared it up alot for me.
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes