Tapping or Untapping permanents

  • #1
    Can you tap an already tapped permanent, or in reverse untap an already untapped permanent?

    Also, if a card Named X reads "Untap X [Card name]: any ability goes here" can you use it the turn you play it, or does that fall under a summoning sickness rule?
  • #2
    1) You cannot tap an already tapped permanent to pay a cost. You can use an effect that would tap an already tapped permanent, it will just do nothing on resolution.

    2) Q and T abilities cannot be used unless you've controlled the creature continuously since the start of your last turn.

    Note that if something uses the word "Tap" or "untap", that is not the same as the symbol, and is not affected by summoning sickness.
  • #3
    @ your #1. I assume the same is true then for untapping an already untapped permanent?

    how do these two options interact if a cost is payed, then untapping or tapping is the resolution? can this happen multiple times or no?
  • #4
    Quote from HydroMechanix
    @ your #1. I assume the same is true then for untapping an already untapped permanent?

    how do these two options interact if a cost is payed, then untapping or tapping is the resolution? can this happen multiple times or no?


    If an effect would tap a tapped permanent, or untap an already untapped permanent, that part just doesn't happen. The spell/ability still resolves, and does all it can [if a spell says to untap a creature and take control of it, it won't 'fizzle' if the creature is already untapped, it'll just 'do all it can', which in this case is take the creature]. The only thing is that you can't tap a tapped permanent for a cost, ur untap an untapped permanent you control. You can't tap your Llanowar Elves for mana if they're already tapped, and you can't untap an untapped creature to pay for an ability.
    Level 1 DCI Judge
    Want to know how we make our rulings? Follow the link! DCI Document Center.

    The latest Comprehensive Rules are also good, and can be found here.
  • #5
    thank you both for clearing this up for me.
  • #6
    for example,
    Aboshan, Cephalid Emperor

    Tap an untapped Cephalid you control: Tap target permanent.


    "Tap an untapped Cephalid you control" is the cost, and to activate the ability, you must tap an untapped cephalid. it doesn't use the tap symbol so you can tap a cephalid that is still under summoning sickness.

    "Tap target permanent." is the effect, you may target a tapped permanent for this ability, though it will not do anything on resolution.


    another example
    Seeker of Skybreak
    {T}: Untap target creature.


    "{T}" is the cost and it use the tap symbol, so this ability can't be used if the elf is still under summoning sickness.
    "Untap target creature." is the effect, and you can target an already untapped creature with this ability. though it won't do anything upon resolution.
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes