Double strike and trample

  • #1
    Some things are not clear to me.

    When a player doesn't block a creature with double strike, he receives 2x the damage. Fine.

    When a player blocks a creature with double strike, he receives no damage?

    What happens if I block a 5/5 double strike/trample guy with a Mogg Fanatic? How much damage do I get when I sacrifice and when I don't sacrifice the goblin?

    From what I understand, if blockers disappear, the trampling creature deals all of its damage to me, right?
    God listens ... TO SLAYER!!!!!

    Originally posted by mondu_the_fat:
    One minute you're arguing about meatlof and the next thing you know someone's sex life is being dredged up.
    My playgroup: four people total.
    We use the Legacy B&R list.
    My meta consists of combo, control and some aggro / midrange decks.
    My group uses proxies, so budget is not an issue. Because of this, things can get out of hand.
  • #2
    Quote from codename47
    Some things are not clear to me.

    When a player doesn't block a creature with double strike, he receives 2x the damage. Fine.
    This is correct though note damage is dealt in 2 events so anything triggers of damage twice will trigger twice.


    When a player blocks a creature with double strike, he receives no damage?

    Correct the creature is blocked so will not deal any damage to the player.

    What happens if I block a 5/5 double strike/trample guy with a Mogg Fanatic? How much damage do I get when I sacrifice and when I don't sacrifice the goblin?

    From what I understand, if blockers disappear, the trampling creature deals all of its damage to me, right?


    If the mogg fanatic is not sacrificed you will deal 1 damage to it in the first strike damage step destroying it, you may then assign 4 to the defending player/planeswalker then in the normal combat step you will assign the full 5 damage to the player.

    If the Mogg is sacrificed the full 5 damage is dealt to the defending player/planeswalker in both steps.


    Every normal man must be tempted, at times, to spit on his hands, hoist the black flag and start slitting throats.
    - H.L Mencken

    I Became insane with long Intervals of horrible Sanity

    All Religion, my friend is simply evolved out of fraud, fear, greed, imagination and poetry.
    - Edgar Allan Poe

    The Crafters' Rules Guru

    My helpdesk
  • #3
    The important detail to remember is that blockers are assigned to attackers once per combat, but damage is assigned to creatures (or, in case of trample, to the defending player) in each of the two combat damage steps separately: attackers and blockers that are not in combat any more at the beginning of the non-first strike combat damage step (usually because they died of first strike damage) cannot be assigned further damage.
    Nicholas Cage, planeswalker
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes