Arrest

  • #1
    Regarding the card Arrest and some clarification on it. When it states that it's activated abilities can't be activated, that also includes mana abilities in this particular case correct?

    I'm asking this somewhat foolish question because there are other cards from previous sets that did the same thing except the following incerpt was on the card:
    (except if they are mana abilities)

    Did Wizards intentionally leave this out, assuming we would know mana abilities aren't affected? Or did they make it so this card can also affect mana abilities?
  • #2
    Quote from pdx // wheeler
    Regarding the card Arrest and some clarification on it. When it states that it's activated abilities can't be activated, that also includes mana abilities in this particular case correct?

    I'm asking this somewhat foolish question because there are other cards from previous sets that did the same thing except the following incerpt was on the card:
    (except if they are mana abilities)

    Did Wizards intentionally leave this out, assuming we would know mana abilities aren't affected? Or did they make it so this card can also affect mana abilities?


    all activated abilities can't be activated unless stated otherwise. in this case if you play arrest on a birds of paradise it wouldn't be able to tap to produce mana.
  • #3
    They intentionally left it out because it stops mana abilities as well.

    In Magic, every card does EXACTLY what it says. Always. If it doesn't say it, it doesn't do it. If no exception is noted, then there is no exception. Always.
    Comp Rules

    Currently Playing:
    I don't even know right now.
  • #4
    You are correct, mana abilities are stopped by Arrest. It's also for the reason you mentioned. It doesn't say mana abilities aren't stopped.
    DCI Level 2 Judge
    My Twitter
    Currently Playing -
    Legacy:
    blue mana Merfolk blue mana
    :symu::symr: Painter :symr::symu:
    EDH:
    :symu::symb::symr: Sedris, the Traitor King :symr::symb::symu:
  • #5
    Quote from pdx // wheeler
    Regarding the card Arrest and some clarification on it. When it states that it's activated abilities can't be activated, that also includes mana abilities in this particular case correct?


    Yes. It functions exactly like Linvala, Keeper of Silence in this respect.

    You may be thinking of cards like Azorius Guildmage- since mana abilities don't use the stack, they can't be targeted. Or like Pithing Needle, that explicitly permits mana abilities. Without this clause, mana abilities are stopped like any other activated ability.
    :D:D:D DCI Rules Advisor :D:D:D
  • #6
    Sweet, thank you. Question asked and answered Kekeke
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes