floating mana

  • #1
    at what point does a mana pool empty out after "floating mana". at the end of the step, or until it is used up? thanks in advance!
  • #2
    Quote from NewAddictions
    at what point does a mana pool empty out after "floating mana". at the end of the step, or until it is used up? thanks in advance!

    at the end of each step and phase
    "Heterological" is heterological if and only if "heterological" is autological
    [Legacy]
    ANT
    Imperial Painter
  • #3
    Neither.

    It is whichever comes first.

    Mana will empty from your mana pool at the end of steps and phases.

    AND

    Mana is removed from your mana pool in amounts reflecting the mana costs you pay.
    DCI Local Judge (Level 1)

    The only woman I'm pimping is sweet lady propane, and I'm tricking her out all over this town.
  • #4
    so just to make sure. If I tap an island my opponent controls during his upkeep using my scepter of dominance. he in response floats the mana. Can he use that U mana during his main phase to cast a creature or spell? From your answers, I would assume no since its a different step/phase. am i right? Thanks in advance!
  • #5
    Yes, you're correct, for the reason you stated. The mana would vanish as his upkeep ends.
    DCI Lvl 1 Judge

    Madness, My Sadness
    I Am My Own Savior
    -Iced Earth
  • #6
    So lets say I have bear Umbra attached to a creature I have 3 land . I play land for turn giving me 4 land. I play a 3 cost creature I have one manna open. I tap this extra land to "float" declared attack swing with creature (attached bear umbra) I untap all lands, 2nd main drop a Gidoen Jura?

    Is this legal or not?
  • #7
    Quote from thrist814
    So lets say I have bear Umbra attached to a creature I have 3 land . I play land for turn giving me 4 land. I play a 3 cost creature I have one manna open. I tap this extra land to "float" declared attack swing with creature (attached bear umbra) I untap all lands, 2nd main drop a Gidoen Jura?

    Is this legal or not?


    No, because you cannot carry mana from your precombat main phase into your combat phase, nor from your combat phase into your postcombat main phase.
    DCI Local Judge (Level 1)

    The only woman I'm pimping is sweet lady propane, and I'm tricking her out all over this town.
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes