When does a creature's toughness return to the printed value?

  • #1
    If I lightning bolt my opponent's craw wurm during his upkeep, is his worm effectively a 6/1 until the end of that phase or the end of his turn? When is the damage "removed" (is that the correct word?) from the wurm?

    Similarly on my turn, if I attack with raging goblin and he blocks with his craw wurm, could I earthquake for three damage during my second main phase and kill his craw wurm?

    Also, if anyone has links to the rulings for exactly how damage works on creatures I would appreciate it! Thank in advance. Smile
  • #2
    1. The damage on the Craw Wurm is removed during the cleanup step.

    2. Yes.


    118.6. Damage marked on a creature remains until the cleanup step, even if that permanent stops being a creature. If the total damage marked on a creature is greater than or equal to its toughness, that creature has been dealt lethal damage and is destroyed as a state-based action (see rule 704). All damage marked on a permanent is removed when it regenerates (see rule 701.11, "Regenerate") and during the cleanup step (see rule 514.2).


    See rule 118 in it's entirety for everything about damage: http://www.wizards.com/magic/tcg/article.aspx?x=magic/rules
    Avatar by Spiderboy
    DCI Level 2 Judge - Shire5k on other forums and Twitter
    Player to Judge: "Judge, I have this card Palace Guard. It says it can block any number of creatures....is that true?"
  • #3
    Damage does not reduce toughness, the toughness remains the same. However, damage is removed from a creature either when it regenerates or during the cleanup step of the turn, which is the last step of a turn. And yes, you could kill the Wurm in that way.
  • #4
    Quote from uncertainty
    If I lightning bolt my opponent's craw wurm during his upkeep, is his worm effectively a 6/1 until the end of that phase or the end of his turn?


    Neither. It's still a 6/4. It may have 3 damage marked on it, but that does nothing to affect the creature's toughness.

    When is the damage "removed" (is that the correct word?) from the wurm?


    During the cleanup step of each turn.

    Similarly on my turn, if I attack with raging goblin and he blocks with his craw wurm, could I earthquake for three damage during my second main phase and kill his craw wurm?


    Yes.
    I am no longer on MTGS staff, so please don't contact me asking me to do staff things. :|
  • #5
    The reason it matters that the worm is still a 6/4 is because certain cards like ghastly demise actually need to look at the cards toughness. So if the lightning bolt is the only card in your graveyard, ghastly demise will not destroy it because the creatures toughness is still actually 4. It just has 3 damage on the creature


    Kickass signature Courtesy of the boys at Heroes of the Plane studios
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes