EDH: Are Bringers Legal?

  • #1
    My general is Teneb, the Harvester

    Normally, there wouldn't be a problem with Bringer of the Black Dawn being in my deck, but it has a U and a R in the text box.

    Does this still count, even though it is an alternate casting cost and not an actual ability?
    Banner by me
  • #2
    i believe it will not be allowed, since things with off color kicker costs or alternate color costs are normally not allowed. The bringers are only allowed in a five color deck. Though as always, edh is a variant casual format, talk to your playgroup.
  • #3
    Cards are only allowed to have the mana symbols of your general's colors. U and B are on the Bringer and not your general's colors so you can't play it.
    DCI Level 2 Judge
  • #4
    Would that still be the case if a card is hybrid costing?
    56 Correct
    23 Incorrect
    as of ZEN to M15.


    Many thanks to DNC at Heroes of the Plane!
  • #5
    The General's mana cost defines what color of mana symbols may appear on cards in the deck. If any other symbol appears anywhere on the card, then you can not use it in your EDH deck.
    Need a dispenser here!

    Quote from BasqueRootwalla
    Quote from TheRogue
    you can always dump legacy for modern


    Ew, I'm about to eat, man.
  • #6
    Quote from Shizazination
    My general is Teneb, the Harvester

    Normally, there wouldn't be a problem with Bringer of the Black Dawn being in my deck, but it has a U and a R in the text box.

    Does this still count, even though it is an alternate casting cost and not an actual ability?


    To make sure you're clear on this, that is an "actual ability" of the Bringer.

    "You may pay WUBRG rather than pay [CARDNAME]'s mana cost" is its text, and its effect is a rules-modifying one, to create an option for alternate payment in the event of casting that card.
    Epic banner by Erasmus of æтђєг.
    Awesome avatar provided by Krashbot @ [Epic Graphics].

  • #7
    Quote from Harbinger_
    Would that still be the case if a card is hybrid costing?

    Yes, hybrid symbols contain 2 mana symbols in them. If either of them is not in your general's colors you can't use that card.
    DCI Level 2 Judge
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes