Now, the flat out can't be countered seems understandable enough, but what can counter Wreak Havoc, if not spells or abilities? A flipped Erayo has a trigger that counters things, but isn't that a triggered ability, and thus won't affect Wreak Havoc?
Q: Why does it say "Wreak Havoc can't be countered by spells or abilities" instead of just "Wreak Havoc can't be countered"?
A: Because Wreak Havoc can be countered! Shocking! "But the card says it can't!"
But what happens if you try to wreak my Sensei's Divining Top and I put it on top of my library in response? The Wreak Havoc "fizzles" - that is, it's countered upon resolution for lack of a legal target. That's still countering as far as the game is concerned, but that's being countered by game rules, not by a spell or ability.
Let me get one thing straight with you. When Condor and an official ruling disagree, 50% of the time the official ruling gets reversed later. The other 50% of the time, the rules get clarified/changed to make the ruling right when it really wasn't before.
Ahh, that makes sense! Thanks, that had been puzzling me. So is that why Root Sliver has "can't be countered", but gives "Sliver spells can't be countered by spells or abilities". Otherwise Nameless Inversion could explode the game, right?