Vampire Nocturnus and PtE

  • #1
    If my opponent has a Vampire Nocturnus in play with several other vampires and declares his attackers, if I Path to Exile the Nocturnus before declaring blockers, are his vampires still flying? Do I need to PtE the Nocturnus before attackers are declared?
    And is there a rules quote available to clear that up for me?
    Last edited by argopile: 10/1/2009 6:16:24 AM


    GO L.A. LAKERS!! 29-8 and rolling!!

    "Those who would sacrifice freedom for security deserve neither ." - Benjamin Franklin

    :kitty:Thank You Hannes for taking the time to keep up such an exceptional forum site.:kitty:

    I'm :argh:at WoTC for:nike::symu:.

    Lyoto Machida beat Shogun Rua.

    Quote from XDarkAngelX
    I loathe and detest strangers and want them to die at the hands of my cardboard minions.


    Type 2: RB Bloodquake
    Type 2 Lorwyn/Alara season: UB Fae despite the hate! Oh how I miss it...:rolleyes:

    O_o
  • #2
    If you do it during the Declare Attackers step, after attackers are declared, his creatures will not have flying when it comes time to block them in the Declare Blockers step.

    508. Declare Attackers Step

    508.1. First, the active player declares attackers. This turn-based action doesn't use the stack.

    508.2. Second, any abilities that triggered on attackers being declared go on the stack.

    508.3. Third, the active player gets priority. Players may cast spells and activate abilities.
    You cast your Path to Exile right here. If it resolves, the Vampire Nocturnus is exiled.

    509. Declare Blockers Step

    509.1. First, the defending player declares blockers. This turn-based action doesn't use the stack.

    509.1a. The defending player chooses which creatures that he or she controls, if any, will block. The chosen creatures must be untapped. For each of the chosen creatures, the defending player chooses one creature for it to block that's attacking him, her, or a planeswalker he or she controls.

    509.1b. The defending player checks each creature he or she controls to see whether it's affected by any restrictions (effects that say a creature can't block, or that it can't block unless some condition is met). If any restrictions are being disobeyed, the declaration of blockers is illegal. A restriction may be created by an evasion ability (a static ability an attacking creature has that restricts what can block it).
    At this point, when you declare blockers, the Vampire is no longer on the battlefield and is no longer giving his other creatures flying.
    Last edited by triangleman: 10/1/2009 6:21:58 AM
    MTG Coordinator: Core level
    MTG Rules Adviser/Advisor
    Comp Rules, FAQs, and DCI Rules

    Quote from Condor
    Let me get one thing straight with you. When Condor and an official ruling disagree, 50% of the time the official ruling gets reversed later. The other 50% of the time, the rules get clarified/changed to make the ruling right when it really wasn't before.
  • #3
    604.2. Static abilities create continuous effects, some of which are prevention effects or replacement effects. These effects are active as long as the permanent with the ability remains on the battlefield and has the ability.


    508. Declare Attackers Step

    ...

    508.3. Third, the active player gets priority. Players may cast spells and activate abilities.



    Is that good enough?
    My sig broke.
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes