Does Lifelink Stack?

  • #1
    Here's a simple one. Does Lifelink stack?

    If a 4/4 creature had lifelink and i gave it lifelink again, and it dealt damage, do i get 8 life?

    i'm quite sure i get 8 life since its 2 independent lines of text....
    I am NOT the girl in my avatar. Stop hitting on me. I'm a dude, just like you!
  • #2
    Yes, lifelink stacks. If you have loxodon warhammer on a knight of meadowgrain for example you gain 10 life with an attack.
  • #3
    Quote from Ryoka
    Here's a simple one. Does Lifelink stack?

    If a 4/4 creature had lifelink and i gave it lifelink again, and it dealt damage, do i get 8 life?

    i'm quite sure i get 8 life since its 2 independent lines of text....


    It's not having "two independent lines of text" so much as having two separate triggered abilities.

    Generally speaking, if a creature has multiple instances of a triggered ability (which is what lifelink is), each of those instances will trigger when the condition met.
    I am no longer on MTGS staff, so please don't contact me asking me to do staff things. :|
  • #5
    It states in the official comprehensive rules on the MTG website that "Multiple instances of lifelink on the same object are redundant." Which would mean that it doesn't stack right? I was also playing a new player the other day that said you only gain the amount of life that the creature you dealt the damage to could take. For example, I attacked my opponent with a 9/9 Lifelink and he blocked with a 3/3. He said that I would only gain 3 life because that is the amount of damage the creature could take. It does not specify in the official rules about this but I've always played lifelink by gaining the amount of life in result of the creatures power. So can anyone clarify how this ability really works please?!?!?! Thank you!
  • #6
    Quote from DarkGirlFiendMAM
    It states in the official comprehensive rules on the MTG website that "Multiple instances of lifelink on the same object are redundant." Which would mean that it doesn't stack right?

    Correct, multiple instances of lifelink are not cumulative.


    I was also playing a new player the other day that said you only gain the amount of life that the creature you dealt the damage to could take. For example, I attacked my opponent with a 9/9 Lifelink and he blocked with a 3/3. He said that I would only gain 3 life because that is the amount of damage the creature could take.

    That's incorrect. There is no limit to the amount of damage a creature can "take." A 9/9 creature will assign and deal 9 damage, regardless of the toughness, life total, or loyalty of the recipient. If the creature has lifelink, 9 damage will result in 9 points of life gain.
    Level 2 Magic Judge

    Please use card tags when you're asking a question about specific cards: [c]Serra Angel[/c] -> Serra Angel.
  • #7
    Quote from DarkGirlFiendMAM
    It states in the official comprehensive rules on the MTG website that "Multiple instances of lifelink on the same object are redundant." Which would mean that it doesn't stack right? I was also playing a new player the other day that said you only gain the amount of life that the creature you dealt the damage to could take. For example, I attacked my opponent with a 9/9 Lifelink and he blocked with a 3/3. He said that I would only gain 3 life because that is the amount of damage the creature could take. It does not specify in the official rules about this but I've always played lifelink by gaining the amount of life in result of the creatures power. So can anyone clarify how this ability really works please?!?!?! Thank you!

    the reason they don't stack NOW is because it was changed with M10. when this post was made (a year ago....) it did stack.

    anways, creatures deal damage equal to their power. your creature dealt 9 damage to the 3/3, so you gain 9 life.
    MTG Rules Advisor as of 9/29/09
    Quote from Kroma
    Get some manners you ignorant jerks...
  • #8
    Quote from DarkGirlFiendMAM
    It states in the official comprehensive rules on the MTG website that "Multiple instances of lifelink on the same object are redundant." Which would mean that it doesn't stack right? I was also playing a new player the other day that said you only gain the amount of life that the creature you dealt the damage to could take. For example, I attacked my opponent with a 9/9 Lifelink and he blocked with a 3/3. He said that I would only gain 3 life because that is the amount of damage the creature could take. It does not specify in the official rules about this but I've always played lifelink by gaining the amount of life in result of the creatures power. So can anyone clarify how this ability really works please?!?!?! Thank you!


    Lifelink is no longer a triggered ability. It is static and does not stack. However, if you have an effect that is similar to lifelink, such as Spirit Loop, it is still a triggered ability will trigger separately. A creatures toughness does not effect the amount of damage it can receive. It will be a 3/3 with 9 damage and destroyed when SBE are checked.
    When fascism comes to America, it will be wrapped in the flag and carrying a cross.

    Quote from SaschaW
    Yes. It can however deal 0 damage to mutliple targets, if you multikick it.


    http://www.pathofreason.com/
  • #9
    Quote from DarkGirlFiendMAM
    It states in the official comprehensive rules on the MTG website that "Multiple instances of lifelink on the same object are redundant." Which would mean that it doesn't stack right? I was also playing a new player the other day that said you only gain the amount of life that the creature you dealt the damage to could take. For example, I attacked my opponent with a 9/9 Lifelink and he blocked with a 3/3. He said that I would only gain 3 life because that is the amount of damage the creature could take. It does not specify in the official rules about this but I've always played lifelink by gaining the amount of life in result of the creatures power. So can anyone clarify how this ability really works please?!?!?! Thank you!

    The first part is true...except that this thread is almost 1 year old, and after Binary's post there was a rules change. Lifelink was a triggered ability that wasn't redundant at the time. As of the rules change it is now a static ability and is now redundant.

    However, with regards to the amount of life gained, it would be 9. Unless specified otherwise, the creatures in combat would have to assign damage equal to their power, regardless of the size of the creatures it's combating. You would assign 9 damage, and the creature would deal 9 damage, net-ing you 9 life.
  • #10
    And this is why we don't allow thread necroing.
    I am no longer on MTGS staff, so please don't contact me asking me to do staff things. :|
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes