Ethersworn canonist and staying power

  • #1
    Thinking about making a casual deck with this combo, just making sure,
    Does having an Ethersworn Canonist and a staying power in play prevent players from playing non-artifact spells (once they have played one)?
    Quote from Vladsimpaler
    Billy Mays here!

    Having trouble with creatures? Well I have the answer! Counterspell! Just one use, and BAM! Problem Solved!

    Quote from Lotus

    "But wait! There's more! Not only is my Undermine going to counter your spell, you lose 3 life as well!"

  • #2
    Quote from mlz3000
    Thinking about making a casual deck with this combo, just making sure,
    Does having an Ethersworn Canonist and a staying power in play prevent players from playing non-artifact spells (once they have played one)?

    No. Ethersworn Canonist has a static ability that generates a continuous effect. It does not create a continuous effect with an "until end of turn" or "this turn" duration, and only those are affected by Staying Power.
    Level 2 Magic Judge

    Please use card tags when you're asking a question about specific cards: [c]Serra Angel[/c] -> Serra Angel.
  • #3
    Alright, thanks, thought that the phrase "this turn" in the text box automatically made it a "this turn" effect.

    Also, sorry, forgot to put this in the unhindged section of the forums, could a mod move this?
    Quote from Vladsimpaler
    Billy Mays here!

    Having trouble with creatures? Well I have the answer! Counterspell! Just one use, and BAM! Problem Solved!

    Quote from Lotus

    "But wait! There's more! Not only is my Undermine going to counter your spell, you lose 3 life as well!"

  • #4
    Quote from mlz3000
    Alright, thanks, thought that the phrase "this turn" in the text box automatically made it a "this turn" effect.


    technically it is a "this turn" effect. unfortunately, as stated above, all staying power does is make "this turn" (and "until end of turn") effects continous. as the effect is already technically continuous (in a weird way) this does not change the effect at all.
    not for lack of trying on staying power's part though.
  • #5
    To kind of clarify what others have said:

    - Spearbreaker Behemoth has the appropriate "this turn" effect (since it wears off when the turn ends); Staying Power works here since the duration is finite (before Staying Power's in play).
    - Ethersworn Canonist's "this turn" carries over to every turn; it's not valid for extension, since it already is.


    So in short, the ones that matter are those with expiration dates, so to speak.
    Last edited by Solmancer: 6/3/2009 3:41:16 PM
    Latest Musing
    - Theros
  • #6
    Imagine if Ethersworn Canonist had text similar to Rule of Law, except "nonartifact spell" instead of "spell" (honestly, which is how it should have been printed). Then it's easier to see how it doesn't interact with Staying Power.
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes