Standstill + Counterspells

  • #1
    Say I have a standstill in play. If my opponent plays a spell and then I counter it, will it still trigger on the first spell, allowing me to draw?
    Last edited by Blackblade_Initiate: 3/2/2009 12:48:55 AM

    | BG Eva Green | RG Combo Elves | W Quinn |

    | WUBRG Ichorid | UGR Tempo Thresh |


  • #2
    No. The Standstill will trigger twice: once from your opponent's spell, and once from your counterspell. The second trigger will resolve first, barring any other spells, so your opponent will draw.
    100: 05/18/06 @17:18 PST
    200: 07/17/06 @21:03 PST
    500: 05/05/07 @11:48 PST
    666: 08/27/07 @11:36 PST
    777: 01/28/08 @20:22 PST
    800: 04/07/08 @19:18 PST
    888: 08/08/08 @16:12 PST :p
    900: 08/12/08 @16:57 PST
    1000:12/22/08 @ 18:01 PST
    MTGS Legacy Tournament #5 Semi-finalist.
    MTGS Legacy Tournament #6 Top 8.
  • #4
    Say I have a standstill in play. If my opponent plays a spell and then I counter it, will it still trigger on the first spell, allowing me to draw?


    That depends on how you go about it.
    Consider two situations:

    Situation A:
    1. Your opponent plays a creature.
    2. Since he played a spell, Standstill's trigger goes on the stack.
    3. Before the trigger resolves, you play a counterspell from your hand.
    4. A new trigger for Standstill is placed on the stack because of your counterspell.
    5. The new trigger resolves, and your opponent draws three cards.
    6. You counter the creature.

    Situation B:
    1. Your opponent plays a creature.
    2. Standstill's trigger goes on the stack.
    3. You let the trigger resolve, and then draw three cards.
    4. Now you may counter the creature spell.
    Member of Team RIW
    Read my Constructed column on Star City, Thirst for Knowledge!
    View my MTGS-era TFK articles here!
  • #5
    Say I have a standstill in play. If my opponent plays a spell and then I counter it, will it still trigger on the first spell, allowing me to draw?


    The Standstill has triggered on the first spell. If you play a counterspell with the triggered ability on the stack (i.e. with Standstill still in play), that will trigger Standstill again.

    As Shinjutsei says, if you let the Standstill trigger resolve, you draw three cards, and can play your counter then (because his spell is still on the stack).
    Epic banner by Erasmus of æтђєг.
    Awesome avatar provided by Krashbot @ [Epic Graphics].

  • #6
    speaking of standstill what happens if i krosan grip it? will my opponant still draw cards? Im wondering because of split second.
    Giant Growth: Yeah, Richard! You make those "3-of-something-for-1-mana" cards!
    Healing Salve: Go, Richard! Keep that cycle going!
    Lightning Bolt: Wow, dude, that's really powerful. Make sure to keep this common-appropriate!
    Dark Ritual: What are you doing? That's obviously better than the other three!
    Ancestral Recall: Seriously? You want us to make this a common? Really?
  • #7
    Quote from Lightyagami121
    speaking of standstill what happens if i krosan grip it? will my opponant still draw cards?

    Yes, of course.

    Im wondering because of split second.
    Split Second means "As long as this spell is on the stack, players can't play other spells or abilities that aren't mana abilities." Triggered abilities aren't played, they just happen automatically, so Split Second doesn't interfere with triggered abilities triggering, going on the stack, or resolving.
    Level 2 Magic Judge

    Please use card tags when you're asking a question about specific cards: [c]Serra Angel[/c] -> Serra Angel.
  • #8
    Quote from Lightyagami121
    speaking of standstill what happens if i krosan grip it? will my opponant still draw cards? Im wondering because of split second.


    Standstill's effect is a triggered ability, Split Second only stop's activated abilities and spells. So the Standstill's effect will still occur.

    ninja edit: 'nathed...
    "As the size of an explosion increases, the number of social situations it is incapable of solving approaches zero." -- Varsuvius, Order of the Stick
  • #9
    Quote from CarstenHaese
    Yes, of course.
    Split Second means "As long as this spell is on the stack, players can't play other spells or abilities that aren't mana abilities." Triggered abilities aren't played, they just happen automatically, so Split Second doesn't interfere with triggered abilities triggering, going on the stack, or resolving.

    k thanks, its just something brought up in our cube yesterday. :]
    Giant Growth: Yeah, Richard! You make those "3-of-something-for-1-mana" cards!
    Healing Salve: Go, Richard! Keep that cycle going!
    Lightning Bolt: Wow, dude, that's really powerful. Make sure to keep this common-appropriate!
    Dark Ritual: What are you doing? That's obviously better than the other three!
    Ancestral Recall: Seriously? You want us to make this a common? Really?
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes