protection in graveyard?

  • #1
    Am I correct that a card with protection from a color (Stillmoon Cavalier, for example) retains its protection when it is in the graveyard? That is to say, stillmoon cannot be brought back to play by a reveillark leaving play. Is this correct?
  • #2
    Quote from ChemGuy
    Am I correct that a card with protection from a color (Stillmoon Cavalier, for example) retains its protection when it is in the graveyard? That is to say, stillmoon cannot be brought back to play by a reveillark leaving play. Is this correct?


    No. Protection, like almost all abilities of permanent cards, only functions while the card it's on is in play.
    402.8. Abilities of an instant or sorcery usually function only while the object is on the stack. Abilities of all other objects usually function only while that object is in play. The exceptions are as follows:

    402.8a Characteristic-defining abilities function everywhere, even outside the game. (See rule 405.2.)

    402.8b An ability that states which zones it functions in functions only from those zones.

    402.8c An ability of an object that modifies what it costs to play functions on the stack.

    402.8d An object's ability that restricts or modifies how that object can be played functions in any zone from which it could be played.

    402.8e An object's ability that modifies how it comes into play functions as that object is coming into play. See rule 419.6i.

    402.8f An object's activated ability that has a cost that can't be paid while the object is in play functions from any zone in which its cost can be paid.

    402.8g A trigger condition that can trigger only in a zone other than the in-play zone triggers from that zone. Other trigger conditions of the same triggered ability may function in different zones.
    Example: Absolver Thrull has the ability "When Absolver Thrull comes into play or the creature it haunts is put into a graveyard, destroy target enchantment." The first trigger condition triggers from the in-play zone and the second trigger condition functions from the removed-from-the-game zone. (See rule 502.51, "Haunt.")

    402.8h An ability whose cost or effect specifies that it moves the object it's on out of a particular zone functions only in that zone, unless that ability's trigger condition, or a previous part of that ability's cost or effect, specifies that the object is put into that zone.
    Example: Necrosavant says "{3}{B}{B}, Sacrifice a creature: Return Necrosavant from your graveyard to play. Play this ability only during your upkeep." A player may play this ability only if Necrosavant is in his or her graveyard.

    402.8i An ability that modifies the rules for deck construction functions before the game begins. Such an ability modifies not just the Comprehensive Rules, but also the _Magic: The Gathering_ DCI Floor Rules and any other documents that set the deck construction rules for a specific Constructed format. However, such an ability can't affect the format legality of a card, including whether it's banned or restricted. The current _Magic: The Gathering_ DCI Floor Rules can be found at http://www.wizards.com/Magic/TCG/Events.aspx?x=dci/doccenter/home.

    402.9. Effects can add or remove abilities of objects. An effect that adds an ability will state that the object "gains" or "has" that ability. An effect that removes an ability will state that the object "loses" that ability. Effects that remove an ability remove all instances of it. If two or more effects add and remove the same ability, in general the most recent one prevails. (See rule 418.5, "Interaction of Continuous Effects.")

    402.10. An effect that sets an object's characteristic, or simply states a quality of that object, is different from an ability granted by an effect. When an object "gains" or "has" an ability, that ability can be removed by another effect. If an effect defines a characteristic of the object ("[permanent] is [characteristic value]"), it's not granting an ability. (See rule 405.2.)
    Example: An effect reads, "Enchanted creature has 'This creature is an artifact creature.'" This effect grants an ability to the creature that can be removed by other effects. Another effect reads, "Enchanted creature is an artifact creature." This effect simply defines a characteristic of the creature. It doesn't grant an ability, so effects that would cause the creature to lose its abilities wouldn't cause the enchanted creature to stop being an artifact.
    502.7. Protection

    502.7a Protection is a static ability, written "Protection from [quality]." This quality is usually a color (as in "protection from black") but can be any characteristic value. If the quality is a card type, subtype, or supertype, the protection applies to sources that are permanents with that card type, subtype, or supertype and to any sources not in play that are of that card type, subtype, or supertype. This is an exception to rule 200.9.

    502.7b A permanent or player with protection can't be targeted by spells with the stated quality and can't be targeted by abilities from a source with the stated quality.

    502.7c A permanent or player with protection can't be enchanted by Auras that have the stated quality. Such Auras attached to the permanent or player with protection will be put into their owners' graveyards as a state-based effect. (See rule 420, "State-Based Effects.")

    502.7d A permanent with protection can't be equipped by Equipment that have the stated quality or fortified by Fortifications that have the stated quality. Such Equipment or Fortifications become unattached from that permanent, but remain in play. (See rule 420, "State-Based Effects.")

    502.7e Any damage that would be dealt by sources that have the stated quality to a permanent or player that has protection is prevented.

    502.7f Attacking creatures with protection can't be blocked by creatures that have the stated quality.

    502.7g Protection from everything is a variant of the protection ability. A permanent with protection from everything has protection from each object regardless of that object's characteristic values. Such a permanent can't be targeted by spells or abilities, enchanted by Auras, equipped by Equipment, fortified by Fortifications, or blocked by creatures, and all damage that would be dealt to it is prevented.

    502.7h Multiple instances of protection from the same quality on the same permanent or player are redundant.
    Last edited by useless_kodama: 2/12/2009 4:33:47 PM
    MTG Rules Advisor

    Autocard: [card]Ovinize[/card] = Ovinize
  • #3
    Nope. You CAN bring Stillmoon back from the dead with something like Reveillark.

    A card's protection clause is only affected with in-play mechanics unless specified otherwise. For example, a car with "protection from blue" can still be targeted by a counterspell when being played as a spell the same way a card that has "protection from black" can still be removed from a person's hand with something like castigate.

    This is the reason why somehting like a Dark ritual + entomb + exhume + Akroma combo would work.
  • #4
    Quote from Ilvaldi
    This is the reason why somehting like a Dark ritual + entomb + exhume + Akroma combo would work.
    Well, neither Entomb nor Exhume try to Damage, Enchant/equip/fortify, Block, or Target (DEBT) anything anyway, so even if Protection did function in other zones, this "combo" would still work.
    MTG Rules Advisor

    Autocard: [card]Ovinize[/card] = Ovinize
  • #5
    Thanks for the replies! That makes me quite happy that I can Lark my Stillmoon!
  • #6
    Quote from useless_kodama
    Well, neither Entomb nor Exhume try to Damage, Enchant/equip/fortify, Block, or Target (DEBT) anything anyway, so even if Protection did function in other zones, this "combo" would still work.


    Sorry 'bout that. I meant to say reanimate, not exhume.
  • #7
    Quote from Ilvaldi
    Sorry 'bout that. I meant to say reanimate, not exhume.

    Let's add two manas and Zombify then! Wink

    Akroma, Angel of Wrath can be Zombified too...
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes