pro red + pyroclasm

  • #1
    burrenton forge-tender won't be impacted by a pyroclasm correct?
    rip CBC
  • #2
    Correct. Protection, among other things, prevents all damage from a source with the specified quality (in this case, red).
    Vintage Adept - TheManaDrain.com
    Magic Rules Advisor

  • #3
    Now say he had protection from white, would that prevent his death in case of wrath of god?
    rip CBC
  • #4
    Quote from strangeuniverse
    Now say he had protection from white, would that prevent his death in case of wrath of god?

    Nope, Wrath of God does none of the 4 things that protection protects from

    Damage
    Equip/Enchant
    Block
    Target
    MTG Coordinator: Core level
    MTG Rules Adviser/Advisor
    Comp Rules, FAQs, and DCI Rules

    Quote from Condor
    Let me get one thing straight with you. When Condor and an official ruling disagree, 50% of the time the official ruling gets reversed later. The other 50% of the time, the rules get clarified/changed to make the ruling right when it really wasn't before.
  • #5
    Protection prevents DEBT:
    Damage, Enchant/Equip/Fortify, Block and Target.
    Wrath of God does neither of these, so protection won`t help.
  • #6
    No, protection does infact PREVENT the damage. There is damage that is going to the Forge Tender from the Pyroclasm, but it is reduced to zero. Wrath of God does NOT target, nor does it deal any damage, it just destroys. Any creatures with protection from White will not sustain protection from WoGs
    Check out my sale/buy/trade list:
    *Mayreturn*

    I have some EDH cards and rare Magic basic lands (APAC, EURO, ARENA, etc) so message me if you're looking.

    Number of members banned after I posted a BTR: 7 Mad

    Looking for honest buyers, sellers, and traders. Grin
  • #7
    Quote from jokalhaups
    No, protection does infact PREVENT the damage. There is damage that is going to the Forge Tender from the Pyroclasm, but it is reduced to zero. Wrath of God does NOT target, nor does it deal any damage, it just destroys. Any creatures with protection from White will not sustain protection from WoGs

    Sure it does

    502.7e Any damage that would be dealt by sources that have the stated quality to a permanent or player that has protection is prevented.
    MTG Coordinator: Core level
    MTG Rules Adviser/Advisor
    Comp Rules, FAQs, and DCI Rules

    Quote from Condor
    Let me get one thing straight with you. When Condor and an official ruling disagree, 50% of the time the official ruling gets reversed later. The other 50% of the time, the rules get clarified/changed to make the ruling right when it really wasn't before.
  • #8
    Quote from triangleman
    Sure it does

    502.7e Any damage that would be dealt by sources that have the stated quality to a permanent or player that has protection is prevented.


    I am unclear as to what this post is saying. Are you saying that Protection from White would protect a creature from Wrath of God? If so, that would be incorrect as, has been already stated several times, protection stops 4 things:

    Damage
    Enchanting/Equipping
    Targeting
    Blocking

    Wrath of God does none of these things. Instead, it just destroys all creatures.

    Pyroclasm may result in creatures being destroyed, but all it does is deal damage. The game rules destroy the creature. Or at least they would if the creature didn't have Protection from Red, which prevents the damage.
    All warfare is based on deception.
    --Sun Tzu, The Art of War

    Level 2 DCI Judge
  • #9
    Quote from Kuma_ACT
    I am unclear as to what this post is saying. Are you saying that Protection from White would protect a creature from Wrath of God? If so, that would be incorrect as, has been already stated several times, protection stops 4 things:

    Damage
    Enchanting/Equipping
    Targeting
    Blocking

    Wrath of God does none of these things. Instead, it just destroys all creatures.

    Pyroclasm may result in creatures being destroyed, but all it does is deal damage. The game rules destroy the creature. Or at least they would if the creature didn't have Protection from Red, which prevents the damage.

    No I misread his post, a couple times at least :-/, since I thought he said that Protection does not prevent damage but just reduces it to zero. I posted the rule that says it does actually prevent the damage, but now I see that his post did not say that.

    I was the first one of the several to state what Protection protected against though
    MTG Coordinator: Core level
    MTG Rules Adviser/Advisor
    Comp Rules, FAQs, and DCI Rules

    Quote from Condor
    Let me get one thing straight with you. When Condor and an official ruling disagree, 50% of the time the official ruling gets reversed later. The other 50% of the time, the rules get clarified/changed to make the ruling right when it really wasn't before.
  • #10
    just to double check this, a creature with protection by red cant be blocked at all by red creatures? or red creatures CAN block them but theyll just die ( basically can you chump or no vs. creatures with protection )
  • #11
    A creature with protection from red can't be blocked at all by red creatures.

    If a creature with protection from red blocks a red creature, it will still do damage to the red attacker, but all damage that the red creature would deal to the protected blocker is prevented.
    Magic Rules Advisor

    How to use card tags:
    [card]Enlightened Tutor[/card] = Enlightened Tutor
  • #12
    1.) A creature with pro red can not be blocked by red creatures.

    2.) If a creature with pro red blocks a red creature it will take no damage but will not automatically kill what it blocks.

    If a 1/1 pro red blocks hill giant neither will die under normal circumstances.

    edit: good old sarn

    Feel free to bid on my cards here!
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes