Trample and indestructible

  • #1
    If i have a creature thats indestructible, and I block a creature with trample, will I take trample damage?
  • #2
    Quote from Brian
    If i have a creature thats indestructible, and I block a creature with trample, will I take trample damage?


    It depends on the attacking creature's power and the blocking creature's toughness. Because you must assign "lethal damage" (that is, damage equal to the creature's toughness, less any damage already on it) to the blocking creature before assigning combat damage to the defending player. Whether or not the blocking creature is indestructible won't affect this.

    Example: If your attacking creature has 3 power, and the blocking creature has 1 toughness, you must assign at least 1 damage to the blocking creature (you can assign more, but 1 damage is "lethal" for the blocking creature). The remaining 2 damage could be assigned to the defending player.
    DCI Regional Judge (L3)
  • #3
    Does trample damage still carry over if the initial blocker disappears: I attack with Deus of Calamity. My opponent declares a block with Goldmeadow Stalwart. I Shock the Stalwart before damage is dealt, killing it. Do I go on to do 6 damage to my opponent, triggering Deus' ability?

    Thanks to spiderboy4 for the sig.

    Quote from makingnotches »
    You sir are amazing. You have the patience of a God.
  • #4
    Yes, though you have to shock the stalwart before damage is assigned, not dealt. If you shock it after damage was assigned, at least two damage was assigned to the stalwart, and your opponent will only take 4 or less damage.
    DCI Magic Rules Advisor

    'Bad Spirit' banner by Hot Pizza at Ye Olde Sig and Avatar Shoppe
    I was a Top 32 Contestant for RPG Superstar 2008!
    Come take a look at my custom set, Lost Relics. (To be finished...eventually)
    Check out the Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
  • #5
    Quote from Yak
    Does trample damage still carry over if the initial blocker disappears: I attack with Deus of Calamity. My opponent declares a block with Goldmeadow Stalwart. I Shock the Stalwart before damage is dealt, killing it. Do I go on to do 6 damage to my opponent, triggering Deus' ability?


    The damage dealt is based on how it was assigned (remember this is a "two-step" process). If combat damage has already been assigned, then removing the blocking creature doesn't affect it. But, if when combat damage is assigned, there is no blocking creature, all the combat damage is assigned to the defending player.
    DCI Regional Judge (L3)
  • #6
    With trample you must assign lethal damage to the creature (even if lethal damage would not cause the creature to subsequently "die" ). Any extra damage may be assigned to the player. Thus if you are blocked by a 1/1 indestructable, you must assign lethal damage to it with your 4/4 trampler (or w/e) and then you can assign the remaining 3 points of damage to a player.

    If the creature is no longer there before combat damage is assigned you may assign ALL combat damage from the attacking creature to your opponent. This is important with things like mogg fanatic's sac ability, or using burn to burn out a blocker before damage.
  • #7
    What about Phyrexian Dreadnought attacking and Thornweald archer blocking?
    Will any damage go to the player? When does "Deathtouch" trigger?
    rip CBC
  • #8
    Deathtouch triggers precisely when it says it does: when the damage is dealt. By then, the trample damage has already been dealt to the defending player. Deathtouch does its thing after combat damage has been assigned and dealt. So, Phyrexian Dreadnought will trample over the Archer for 12 - 1 = 11 damage.
    Vintage Adept - TheManaDrain.com
    Magic Rules Advisor

  • #9
    Quote from Yare
    Deathtouch triggers precisely when it says it does: when the damage is dealt. By then, the trample damage has already been dealt to the defending player. Deathtouch does its thing after combat damage has been assigned and dealt. So, Phyrexian Dreadnought will trample over the Archer for 12 - 1 = 11 damage.


    What if he had First Strike & Deathtouch, would the Dreadnought just die before dealing damage?
    rip CBC
  • #10
    In that case, the dreadnought dies before it can deal it's combat damage. First strike kills it without allowing it to deal combat damage (trampling or otherwise)
  • #11
    Quote from strangeuniverse
    What if he had First Strike & Deathtouch, would the Dreadnought just die before dealing damage?


    Yes. If Thornweald Archer had first strike (or double strike) there would be two combat damage steps. In the first combat damage step, only Thornweald Archer would assign and deal combat damage. Deathtouch would trigger and resolve in that step, destroying Phyrexian Dreadnought. In the second combat damage step, Phyrexian Dreadnought isn't in play, and can't assign or deal combat damage.
    DCI Regional Judge (L3)
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes