Planeswalker & lifelink

  • #1
    You attack planeswalker that has 4 l. counters with a 5/5 creature with lifelink. The creature is not blocked and it deals damage.

    1. Do you gain life?

    2. If 1. is yes then how much life do you gain?
  • #2
    Life link is "Whenever this creature deals damage, you gain that much life." Attacking a Planeswalker is just like attacking a player, basically. It deals 5 damage to the Planeswalker, and you therefor gain 5 life.

    It just uses a replacement effect to remove the Loyalty Counters instead of receiving damage. So while damage is not being RECEIVED, it is still being DEALT.
  • #3
    Quote from Rayje_Kaos

    It just uses a replacement effect to remove the Loyalty Counters instead of receiving damage. So while damage is not being RECEIVED, it is still being DEALT.


    Removing loyalty counters is not a replacement effect; it is a result of damage being dealt to the planeswalker. This is explained in rules 212.9d and 212.9g.

    The distinction between "received" and "dealt" is not made in the rules; the planeswalker takes damage. This simply results in something different than what happens to a player (life loss) or a creature (damage staying on it until end of turn).
    I am no longer on MTGS staff, so please don't contact me asking me to do staff things. :|
  • #4
    Quote from Rayje_Kaos
    It just uses a replacement effect to remove the Loyalty Counters instead of receiving damage. So while damage is not being RECEIVED, it is still being DEALT.


    The only replacement effect here is damage being redirected from the player to the planeswalker. That damage is dealt to the planeswalker, which results in loyalty counters being removed, in the same way that dealing damage to a player results in that player losing life.

    And there is no difference between damage being received and damage being dealt. Damage that is prevented or replaced is neither received nor dealt.
    MTG Rules Advisor

    Autocard: [card]Ovinize[/card] = Ovinize
  • #5
    Useless, you realize I already answered this? You're just spamming. And since you're disputing what I said, I can respond...WHATEVER. My answer was STILL correct. And as far as damage being received by a Planeswalker, it doesn't say anywhere that damage isn't received, however, if doesn't say anywhere that damage IS received. So unless they update the rules to say so, you can't dispute that part of what I said without being wrong yourself. I may not be RIGHT, but I'm definitely not WRONG.

    If you believe a post is spam, report it. Your continued inability to respectfully address other members of this forum has now garnered you a suspension. --Binary
    Last edited by Binary: 10/16/2007 9:05:16 AM
  • #6
    Quote from Rayje_Kaos
    Useless, you realize I already answered this? You're just spamming. And since you're disputing what I said, I can respond...WHATEVER. My answer was STILL correct. And as far as damage being received by a Planeswalker, it doesn't say anywhere that damage isn't received, however, if doesn't say anywhere that damage IS received. So unless they update the rules to say so, you can't dispute that part of what I said without being wrong yourself. I may not be RIGHT, but I'm definitely not WRONG.

    If you believe a post is spam, report it. Your continued inability to respectfully address other members of this forum has now garnered you a suspension. --Binary


    Actually, you are are wrong. There is no replacement effect that replaces receiving damage with removing counters. Counters are removed as a result of receiving damage.
    MTG Rules Advisor

    Autocard: [card]Ovinize[/card] = Ovinize
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes