The problem with this a spontaneous trigger that it's like having an activated ability with no legal targets on the stack, except that there's no fizzling it. To illustrate it with an example, what happens if I cast this on a Flame-Kin War Scout?
Intervening if clauses can easily fail like that if the "if" condition is true when the abillity went on the stack, but becomes false by the time the time the ability resolves.
Take Akuta, Born of Ash. If, at the beginning of your upkeep, you have more cards in hand than each opponent, its ability will trigger from the graveyard and go on the stack. However, if an opponent draws cards while the ability is on the stack, and you no longer have the most cards in hand when it resolves, the ability will not do anything because its intervening if clause is no longer met.
Intervening if clauses are similar to Santa Clauses in that they always check twice.
It shouldn't be, to my knowledge. Is there a ruling on Pools of Becoming that says otherwise? If so I'm not aware of it... I'll admit I'm not really up to date on rules regarding things from Planechase.
What I'm worried about is, are triggered abilities on cards objects? Are they even targetable? I know they are on the stack (Voidslime), but what about just on the battlefield?
Presumably yes to both. Cards like Quicksilver Elemental imply that individual activated abilities are objects (and therefore are targetable - though whether or not shroud on a permanent carries over to abilities on it...), so the same should be true for triggered abilities.
Target permanent triggered abilities trigger. (Abilities beginning with the word “when,” “whenever,” or “at” are triggered abilities)
I think there's no need of reminding that before resolving it checks whether the condition is still met, and if it isn't it is removed from the stack and does nothing. Thanks for the discussion! what would be an appropiate cost?
I like 1R, I've been trying to think of cards this would be broken with and I can't find any in standard. Legacy it will probably be auto banned though. I dont know but i assume in 20 years of cards there is a card with a triggered ability that either says "you win the game" or just about.
Still, screw legacy sometimes you can't let it hold you back.
Private Mod Note
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm a proud member of the Online Campaign for Real English. If you believe in capital letters, correct spelling, and good sentence structure, then copy this into your signature.
"People with needs have trivial purchasing power while people with purchasing power have trivial needs." -Steve Randy Waldman, Interfludity