Keyword Inspired, Need wording help

  • #1
    Hi all. These are my rough versions of this mechanic.

    Inspired X (This creature gets +X/+X as long as you control a creature with a power or toughness higher than this creature, not including this effect.)

    So basically, if this a on a 2/2 with inspired 1, and you control a 3/3, both your creatures will be 3/3. Just wanted you thoughts on if my wording accurately explains that if all the stats of the inspired creature are equal or greater than the creature triggering the ability, it still applies.
  • #2
    Creature A
    Inspired 3
    1/1

    Creature B
    Inspired 1
    2/2

    What do you envision happening?
    try { gumOnShoe.cardCollection(); /*See more by me.*/ } catch(ThinkOfTheGameException e) {
    if (gumOnShoe.isAwesome()==42) { gumOnShoe.win();}
    else { System.out.println("I just lost the game."); gumOnShoe.lose(); }
    }
  • #3
    Quote from gumOnShoe
    Creature A
    Inspired 3
    1/1

    Creature B
    Inspired 1
    2/2

    What do you envision happening?


    Going off what he said, it would seem that it ends up as Creature A being a 4/4 and Creature B being a 2/2.
  • #4
    only the 1/1 would be inspired. Basically I want it so the inspired stat boost does not factor at all in determining whether or not a creature is inspired or if it can inspire another creature.
  • #5
    Quote from Drachen
    only the 1/1 would be inspired. Basically I want it so the inspired stat boost does not factor at all in determining whether or not a creature is inspired or if it can inspire another creature.


    I'm pretty sure that's how it'd work, but keep in mind newer players won't expect it to work that way... I'm actually a little worried about the grokability.
    try { gumOnShoe.cardCollection(); /*See more by me.*/ } catch(ThinkOfTheGameException e) {
    if (gumOnShoe.isAwesome()==42) { gumOnShoe.win();}
    else { System.out.println("I just lost the game."); gumOnShoe.lose(); }
    }
  • #6
    The formal-language rules expression for that would be quite ugly. I think it might be preferable to key it off something easier and invariable, like CMC:

    Callow Youth W
    Creature — Human Knight (C)
    As long as you control another creature with converted mana cost 3 or greater, Callow Youth gets +1/+1.
    1/1
    Quote from MOON-E
    If you're asking for other's opinions then expect them to be based on the existing standards, not your own.
  • #7
    Fair enough, I am also wary of the interpretation issues when it comes to forcing a ability to disregard something about itself that would normally interact with other cards with the ability so prevalently. Another thought I had was to add into the text to only regard creatures original power and toughness when looking to see if Inspired is active, but that also adds another layer of complexity onto it.
    Last edited by Drachen: 4/8/2013 3:47:13 PM
  • To post a comment, please or register a new account.
Posts Quoted:
Reply
Clear All Quotes