Whenever a creature enters the battlefield, if there are two or more other creatures on the battlefield, exile that creature. Return that card to the battlefield under its owner's control when Portcullis leaves the battlefield.
10/4/2004 Creatures which are phasing in will not trigger this card's ability.
10/4/2004 If the creature that triggered Portcullis is no longer on the battlefield when the ability resolves, then it fails to do anything.
10/4/2004 You check the count of the number of creatures on the battlefield again during resolution. The creature will not be exiled if the count is 2 or less.
10/1/2009 The creature does enter the battlefield, so any other abilities that trigger on it entering the battlefield trigger. This follows the normal rules for timing triggered abilities: first, the current player puts his or her abilities on the stack in any order, then each other player in turn order does the same. Portcullis' own ability is included in this, so it could result in the creature being exiled after some abilities have resolved, but before others.
10/1/2009 The "when Portcullis leaves the battlefield" ability is set up as part of the ability that exiles the creature. It will trigger when Portcullis leaves the battlefield even if Portcullis has somehow lost its abilities at that time.