Genesis Wave

Oracle Text

Reveal the top X cards of your library. You may put any number of permanent cards with converted mana cost X or less from among them onto the battlefield. Then put all cards revealed this way that weren't put onto the battlefield into your graveyard.

Card Rulings

1/1/2011 If you have fewer than X cards in your library, you reveal all of them.
1/1/2011 A permanent card is an artifact, creature, enchantment, land, or planeswalker card.
1/1/2011 The converted mana cost of a card in your library is determined solely by the mana symbols printed in its upper right corner. The converted mana cost is the total amount of mana in that cost, regardless of color. For example, a card with mana cost {3}{U}{U} has converted mana cost 5.
1/1/2011 If the mana cost of a card in your library includes {X}, X is considered to be 0.
1/1/2011 If a card in your library has no mana symbols in its upper right corner (because it's a land card, for example), its converted mana cost is 0. Such cards can always be put onto the battlefield with Genesis Wave.
1/1/2011 You don't have to put permanent cards revealed this way onto the battlefield if you choose not to, regardless of their converted mana costs.