Ghosts of the Innocent

Oracle Text

If a source would deal damage to a creature or player, it deals half that damage, rounded down, to that creature or player instead.

Card Rulings

10/1/2005 If a damage prevention effect and Ghosts of the Innocent’s effect would apply to the same damage, the player or the controller of the creature being dealt damage may apply the effects in either order (most likely applying the halving effect first).
10/1/2005 Half of 1 rounded down is 0. A source that would deal 1 damage to a creature or player won’t deal damage to that creature or player at all.
10/1/2005 Multiple Ghosts of the Innocent effects are cumulative, and each will halve the damage, rounded down. For example, with three on the battlefield, 14 damage becomes 7, then 3, then finally 1, and only 1 damage would actually be dealt.
10/1/2005 This isn’t a damage prevention effect. If Excruciator (“Damage that would be dealt by Excruciator can’t be prevented”) would deal 7 damage to a creature or player, it deals 3 damage instead.
10/1/2005 If damage is redirected, it’s only halved once.
10/1/2005 If both Ghosts of the Innocent and Furnace of Rath (which doubles damage) are on the battlefield, the controller of the creature being dealt damage or the player being dealt damage can apply the effects in either order. This can matter if the original amount of damage is odd. For example, if a source would deal 3 damage, Ghosts of the Innocent would make it 1 damage, then Furnace of Rath would make it 2 damage, if the player chose to apply the effects in that order.