Glimmervoid Basin

Oracle Text

Whenever a player casts an instant or sorcery spell with a single target, he or she copies that spell for each other spell, permanent, card not on the battlefield, and/or player the spell could target. Each copy targets a different one of them.

Whenever you roll CHAOS, choose target creature. Each player except that creature's controller puts a token that's a copy of that creature onto the battlefield.

Card Rulings

10/1/2009 A plane card is treated as if its text box included "When you roll {PW}, put this card on the bottom of its owner's planar deck face down, then move the top card of your planar deck off that planar deck and turn it face up." This is called the "planeswalking ability."
10/1/2009 A face-up plane card that's turned face down becomes a new object with no relation to its previous existence. In particular, it loses all counters it may have had.
10/1/2009 The controller of a face-up plane card is the player designated as the "planar controller." Normally, the planar controller is whoever the active player is. However, if the current planar controller would leave the game, instead the next player in turn order that wouldn't leave the game becomes the planar controller, then the old planar controller leaves the game. The new planar controller retains that designation until he or she leaves the game or a different player becomes the active player, whichever comes first.
10/1/2009 If an ability of a plane refers to "you," it's referring to whoever the plane's controller is at the time, not to the player that started the game with that plane card in his or her deck. Many abilities of plane cards affect all players, while many others affect only the planar controller, so read each ability carefully.
10/1/2009 If a spell targets multiple things, it won't cause Glimmervoid Basin's first ability to trigger, even if all but one of those targets has become illegal.
10/1/2009 If a spell targets the same player or object multiple times, it won't cause Glimmervoid Basin's first ability to trigger.
10/1/2009 Other than choices involving modes or additional costs, the copies are created based on what they could target if the spell were cast anew. For example, if a player casts Naturalize ("Destroy target artifact or enchantment") targeting an artifact, Glimmervoid Basin's first ability will copy it for each artifact and enchantment it could target (and each copy will target a different one of those), not just for each artifact it could target.
10/1/2009 Anything that couldn't be targeted by the original spell (due to shroud, protection abilities, targeting restrictions, or any other reason) is just ignored by Glimmervoid Basin's first ability.
10/1/2009 The controller of the spell that caused Glimmervoid Basin's first ability to trigger also controls all the copies. That player chooses the order the copies are put onto the stack. The original spell will be on the stack beneath those copies and resolves last.
10/1/2009 The copies that Glimmervoid Basin's first ability creates are created on the stack, so they're not "cast." Abilities that trigger when a player casts a spell (like Glimmervoid Basin's first ability itself) won't trigger.
10/1/2009 If the spell that's copied is modal (that is, it says "Choose one --" or the like), the copy will have the same mode. Its controller can't choose a different one.
10/1/2009 If the spell that's copied has an X whose value was determined as it was cast (like Earthquake does), the copy has the same value of X.
10/1/2009 The controller of a copy can't choose to pay any additional costs for the copy. However, effects based on any additional costs that were paid for the original spell are copied as though those same costs were paid for the copy too.
10/1/2009 As a token is created by the {C} ability, it checks the printed values of the creature it's copying, as well as any copy effects that have been applied to it. It won't copy counters on the creature, nor will it copy other effects that have changed the creature's power, toughness, types, color, and so on.
  • Rarity:Common
  • Type:Plane - Mirrodin
  • Set:Planechase
  • Legal in CMD LGC VIN
  • Artist:Lars Grant-West