Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker

Oracle Text

+3: Destroy target noncreature permanent.

−2: Gain control of target creature.

−9: Nicol Bolas, Planeswalker deals 7 damage to target player. That player discards seven cards, then sacrifices seven permanents.

Card Rulings

2/1/2009 The control-change effect has no duration. It will last until the game ends or the affected creature leaves the battlefield. It may be superseded by a later control-change effect.
7/1/2012 If the damage from Nicol Bolas’s third ability is prevented or redirected, the rest of the effect will still happen. Specifically, the number of cards discarded and permanents sacrificed isn’t tied to the amount of damage dealt.
7/1/2012 For the third ability, if the player is an illegal target when the ability tries to resolve, the ability is countered and none of its effects will happen. No damage will be dealt, no cards will be discarded, and no permanents will be sacrificed.