Rise from the Grave

Rise from the Grave

    4 B
Sorcery

Put target creature card from a graveyard onto the battlefield under your control. That creature is a black Zombie in addition to its other colors and types.

"Don't get too comfortable in there."—Liliana Vess

illus. Kieran Yanner # 102/205

Oracle Text

Put target creature card from a graveyard onto the battlefield under your control. That creature is a black Zombie in addition to its other colors and types.

Card Rulings

10/1/2009 Rise from the Grave doesn’t overwrite any previous colors or types. Rather, it adds another color and another subtype.
10/1/2009 If the targeted creature is normally colorless, it will simply become black. It won’t be both black and colorless.
10/1/2009 A later effect that changes the affected creature’s colors will overwrite that part of Rise from the Grave effect; the creature will be just the new color. The same is true about an effect that changes the affected creature’s types or subtypes.
10/1/2009 A “creature card” is any card with the type creature, even if it has other types such as artifact, enchantment, or land. Older cards of type summon are also creature cards.
7/13/2016 If the targeted creature card is normally colorless, it will simply become black. It won’t be both black and colorless.
  • Rarity:Uncommon
  • Type:Sorcery
  • Set:Eldritch Moon
  • Spoiler
  • Artist:Kieran Yanner