Borrowed Malevolence

Oracle Text

Escalate 2 (Pay this cost for each mode chosen beyond the first.)

Choose one or both —

• Target creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn.

• Target creature gets -1/-1 until end of turn.

Card Rulings

7/13/2016 You choose all of your modes at once. You can’t wait to perform one mode’s actions and then decide to choose more modes.
7/13/2016 You can’t choose any one mode multiple times.
7/13/2016 If two of the chosen modes of an escalate spell target a creature, you may choose the same creature for each mode’s target, or choose different creatures. The same is true if the chosen modes target a player (or opponent).
7/13/2016 If one target of an escalate spell becomes illegal, the other targets will still be affected. If all of the targets become illegal, the spell will be countered.
7/13/2016 Effects that reduce the cost of spells reduce the total cost, including any escalate costs added.
7/13/2016 If an effect allows you to cast a spell that has escalate without paying its mana cost, you pay escalate costs for that spell if you choose more than one mode.
7/13/2016 Additional costs don’t affect a spell’s converted mana cost.
  • Rarity:Common
  • Type:Instant
  • Set:Eldritch Moon
  • Artist:Volkan Baga