Portal Mage

Oracle Text

Flash

When Portal Mage enters the battlefield during the declare attackers step, you may reselect which player or planeswalker target attacking creature is attacking. (It can't attack its controller or its controller's planeswalkers.)

Card Rulings

8/25/2017 You may cast Portal Mage outside of a declare attackers step. If Portal Mage enters the battlefield outside of a declare attackers step, its ability simply doesn’t trigger.
8/25/2017 Reselecting which player or planeswalker a creature is attacking ignores all requirements, restrictions, and costs associated with attacking.
8/25/2017 Reselecting which player or planeswalker a creature is attacking doesn’t cause “whenever this creature attacks” abilities to trigger. Notably, the Curses in this set (such as Curse of Vitality) won’t trigger while Portal Mage’s ability is resolving.
8/25/2017 If you reselect which player or planeswalker an attacking creature is attacking, that creature is still considered to have attacked the player or planeswalker as declared, but it is now attacking the new player or planeswalker.
8/25/2017 If an ability targets something controlled by the “defending player” of an attacking creature and the defending player for that creature changes before that ability resolves, the ability will be countered because its target has become illegal.
  • Rarity:Rare
  • Type:Creature - Human Wizard
  • Set:Commander 2017
  • Artist:Yongjae Choi