Kodama of the Center Tree

Oracle Text

Kodama of the Center Tree's power and toughness are each equal to the number of Spirits you control.

Kodama of the Center Tree has soulshift X, where X is the number of Spirits you control. (When this creature dies, you may return target Spirit card with converted mana cost X or less from your graveyard to your hand.)

Rulings

  • 2/1/2005 Soulshift is a leaves the battlefield trigger, so the gamestate is referenced immediately before the Soulshift trigger to determine the value of X. Soulshift X includes Kodama of the Center Tree. So, X is always at least 1.
  • 2/1/2005 Kodama of the Center Tree can return itself to its owner's hand if you control five or more Spirits when it is put into a graveyard from the battlefield.