Baral, Chief of Compliance

Oracle Text

Instant and sorcery spells you cast cost 1 less to cast.

Whenever a spell or ability you control counters a spell, you may draw a card. If you do, discard a card.

Card Rulings

2/9/2017 Baral’s first ability doesn’t affect the colored mana requirements of instant and sorcery spells.
2/9/2017 If there are additional costs to cast a spell, such as a kicker cost or a cost imposed by another effect (such as Thalia, Guardian of Thraben’s ability, for example), apply those increases before applying cost reductions.
2/9/2017 A spell or ability counters a spell only if it specifically contains the word “counter” in its text. If a spell or ability you control causes all the targets of a spell to become illegal, that spell is considered to be countered by the game rules, not by the spell or ability you control, and Baral’s ability won’t trigger.
  • Rarity:Rare
  • Type:Legendary Creature - Human Wizard
  • Set:Aether Revolt
  • Banned in
  • Artist:Wesley Burt