By Eli Shiffrin
Welcome back to Cranial Insertion
. For this half of the card- er, article, we'll discuss something entirely the opposite of split cards.
Oh, wait. We do that anyway.
So this article won't be too different than usual, except that I'm going to be referencing the Comprehensive Rules
a lot so you can look up the exact rules that apply to my answers.
And we're crammed in such a small space! I feel so close to you all!
I attack my opponent with a Hunted Phantasm
and he responds by casting Curtain of Light
. Is my unblockable creature now blocked?
Your Phantasm is now blocked and very confused. It seems that your Phantasm is not aware that "this is unblockable" only affects the declaration of blockers - any other effects that make something blocked can block it just fine. (See the CR glossary for "Unblockable".)
If I activate and attack with my Genju of the Cedars
, and my opponent blocks with his Suntail Hawk
, then Last Gasp
s my Genju, can I reactivate the Genju's ability to refresh his power and toughness?
Nothing will change the Genju's power and toughness in this situation.
For one, the Genju has no power nor toughness. The land does.
But you also can't restore the Forest to a 4/4. With the layers rule 418.5a, Last Gasp is applied in sublayer 6d, but the Genju's ability is applied back in 6b. When applying their effects, any number of Genju activations will always set the power and toughness in 6b, and the Forest will always be knocked back to 1/1 in 6d.
Q: Living Lands
. I play a Spirit and make a Forest a 3/3. Does that effect overrides the Living Lands?
It does! This time, both Living Lands and Soilshaper want to be applied in layer 6b, so they have to fight it out for the right to set the power and toughness. However, Soilshaper has a bazooka in the form of rule 418.5h, which says the effect that started most recently wins, so your Forest will be a 3/3 stompinator.
What happens if I draw a card and forget to reveal a card for Dark Confidant
You are unhappy. The judge is unhappy. Your mother is unhappy. Everyone is unhappy except your opponent.
What we have to do to fix this situation, if the card you drew but were supposed to reveal has touched your hand of cards, is reveal the most expensive card in your hand. You take a lot of life loss. Then you draw your card for the turn and get a warning.
Doing this multiple times will likely result in a game loss - Dark Confidant can kill you in so many ways! Not only can he reveal a Healing Salve when you're at 1 life, but he can summon the wrath of judge.
Can I put Dark Confidant on top of my library so I won't forget?
Dark Confidant doesn't like sitting precariously on top of libraries. Nor does anything else. The Universal Tournament Rules (section 37) tends to shove them off where it says that nothing may "obscure a player's deck."
I stole a creature with Control Magic
and then played Forbidden Ritual
. Can I somehow sacrifice both the creature and Control magic for the Ritual?
You can indeed. The important thing to note is that state-based effects are not checked between repetitions of the Ritual since no one receives priority, so if you sacrifice the creature, Control magic will be sitting around humming in fear until the ritual is completely done resolving - or until you slaughter it's poor manameat to sacrifice it for a later iteration.
However, if you sacrifice the Control magic first, the creature immediately goes back to its previous controller when the continuous effect of Control magic is no longer there.
In your recent Cranial Insertion: Paper Anniversary you posted that if you insist that your opponent shuffles his deck hundreds of times, you are guilty of unsporting conduct.
My question is how would this affect a deck built around shuffling, such as a deck based around the card Warp World? Would I be penalized for playing Warp World 50 to 100 times?
Nah, that's generally fine. A normal Warp World deck wins by the comes-into-play effects of the other permanents, so those 100 shuffles probably won't ALL happen. Making your opponent shuffle for no reason is bad, but these shuffles are part of an action that progresses the game state, instead of just burning the clock or ruining his cards.
I've got a Blind Hunter
in play, and my opponent comes at me with a gang of 1/1 weenies. If I splice a Hideous Laughter
onto an Otherworldy Journey
targeting my Blind Hunter, does the creature get removed from play before the -2/-2 takes effect?
Yup. When you splice things, the spliced text is added after the actual card's text. So when Otherworld Journey resolves, first it'll remove your Hunter, then it'll send all those other creatures on a decidedly less happy journey.
Can I whisper to my teammate in a 2-Headed Giant tournament?
You are more than welcome to whisper sweet nothings into your teammate's ear. Any form of communication aside from written communication is okay - including speaking in Spanish, French, or Klingon.
If I sacrifice Burning-Tree Shaman
to play Scorched Rusalka
's ability, will he hit me?
Nope. Burning-Tree Shaman doesn't trigger until the activated ability is actually played, but he won't be in play at that point (see this article
for more information on the timing of playing stuff) since he was sacrificed during the playing of the ability.
That's all for this week. Join us next week when I come back for more of... well... the same thing I did this week. But I get the entire page to myself! Yay!
And soon we'll start our Dissension rules reviews. We would be doing previews, but WotC doesn't love us enough.
My shoulders hurt. *stretches*
*accidentally punches Thijs in the nose* Sorry Thijs!
Until next time, happy splitting!
-Eli Shiffrin, L2 DCI Judge